We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

For the price in the Newport area this was great hotel. The rooms were impeccable! The shuttle into town was very convenient, and runs every hour until midnight on the weekends. The staff was attentive and always very friendly. The rooms were sold out when we were there and you would have never known.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa41585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    230
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
303
271
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was THE best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed at. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was amazing. They even made a special batch of cookies for us one night AND brought them to our room. We had a little trouble with the television reception but someone was sent up and it was fixed in no time. Great hotel management and staff! I always find the ladies that work in the restaurant to be very hard workers who do an exceptional job of keeping the dining area clean and well stocked. There was no exception here, they were fantastic! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I stay at hamptons all the time for business. My wife and I stayed here for a wedding because it was one of the reserved hotels and as stated I stay at Hamptons.

The price for this hotel vs a hotel or B and B in Newport is about the same, so stay in Newport. The worst part of this Hampton is that despite being a Gold Member with Hilton we were not treated that way, nor given the benefits that are part of the Hilton's honors program.

I would not recommend staying here. Not worth the price and not treated like an honored guest.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieBrake, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am disappointed to learn that your stay did not live up to expectations.

I would like to apologize that you were not recognized for your Gold Member status. We value all our guests and strive to exceed expectations every stay. Our Hhonors loyal guests are particularly valuable to us, and I regret that you did not experience that. I appreciate your feedback on this and will be sure to address your review with our staff.

It is regretful to learn that this stay would prevent you from returning and would hope that you would reconsider. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Bonnie Brake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We researched a few places when planning our trip to Newport and we found the Hampton Inn and Suites located just about 10 minutes away from all the attractions in Newport. The hotel was very clean, the lobby and common areas were all well maintained and orderly. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice. There was a small exercise room - not many machines, but does the job if you need it.
The room we had was a King non-smoking with sofabed, small kitchen (sink, micro and fridge). It was very spacious and the bathroom looked new and clean. The bed was very comfortable (one other reason why we didn't want to risk a B&B in newport) and the linens were pretty, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is included and consisted of a very nice selection of yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices the typical hot items, eggs and waffles. There was coffee/tea/hot chocolate available 24 hours in the lobby.
We had no problem driving the short way into Newport to all the mansions, the beach, the cliff walk and Ocean Drive. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others (already have!) and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am a loyal Hilton customer and typically stay at Hilton Hotels or Embassy Suites. This hotel was truly one of my best stays in a long time. The staff was outstanding and tremendously helpful. A speical shout out to Susan who went out of her way to take care of me upon my arrival. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well equipped with mini refrigerators and microwaves. Breakfast in the morning was better than most similar properties (just wish there was a manager's reception/bar at night). And you can't beat the location. Easy to get to all the great places in 10 or 15 minutes. Would highly recommend this property to both busines & leisure travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsForBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord NH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Really enjoyed the staff Bonnie, Dave, Kate, Susan, Terry, and Carl made our stay comfortable. Gave us very good ideas on places to go as well as some food choices. The room was a little small for four people but it was clean. Will stay again, close to everything

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abumbee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and located in a perfect spot close to historic Newport. You can drive to the Cliff Walk or the mansions in less than 10 minutes. The staff were super and their advice on directions, parking, and places to see were spot on. The facilities were nice, modern, and clean.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
2.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Address: 317 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#2 Family Hotel in Middletown
#3 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites with refrigerator & microwave; 2 miles from Newport attractions, Navy Base and corporate parks; award winning hotel with free hot breakfast bar in a 2 story atrium lobby, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Newport/Middletown
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown Hotel Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing