We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was the second visit back to Middletown RI and we were pleased with our first visit at this hotel but, this second visit was disappointing !
The hotel closes over half of the facility in the off season months, what a disappointment.
The main building has not been renovated, the beds were not comfy , the tv was an old unit unlike the large flat screen in the updated section !!
As for the continental breakfast the orange juice machine was broken so no OJ, the waffle machine was not working and no fruit, I Jess they really cut back in the low season.
The best of all is that I asked for a wake up call and the phone in the room did not work !!
The front desk did not even offer to put me in another room !!

VERY DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE !!

Room Tip: Ask for the Back Building not near the main office
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSafety01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    205
    101
    55
    31
See reviews for
172
185
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

In a beautiful place like Newport area, a nice cozy hotel is a must in a vacation.
Travelodge Middletown / Newport looks very nice and the room was nice looking too, but, the toilets were stinking from urine smell and its look nobody really pay attention to clean them properly. The in room telephone didn't worked too.
Breakfast was good and hotel's location is very good.
I hope the owner will better supervise his cleaners

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Room was clean, spacious enough - however, curtain was hanging off the rod, had a strange odor and overlooked residence back yards with barking dog and front desk could have been friendly and more accommodating. We wanted to check in a couple of hours earlier and were told that it would be $20 extra - the room was not ready yet - even though there were only 3 other cars in the lot and not many more late that night. I guess they weren't full after all. Breakfast was your usual muffins and bagels with an added waffle maker. Not worth the price at this time of year.

Room Tip: we would not consider this motel again- keep looking for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanna46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is 3 miles from downtown Newport. Not luxurious, but clean, pleasant and quiet. Will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JoeB40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I selected this property after reading through reviews on different sites and getting a fair price using TINGO. I was surprised that about 95% of it was a motel with limited square footage in the room. Although the room and common areas were clean, the mattress caved in towards the middle. Also, our "pre-assigned" (?) room had a rapidly leaking faucet in the shower which the front desk told me they were aware of when I reported it. I had to plead my case & convince the young man to change my room after he said repairs would not be done because all rooms were booked and they would have to turn off the source feeding water to that entire section of the property. He was somewhat bothered as well that I might have upset something in the room after housekeepers had cleaned it. It took less than 10 minutes for me to step in & out of the room & bathroom. I chose to stay here & not seek a room elsewhere in lieu of losing the money already charged to my credit card. Check-out was a more positive experience with a varied selection of hot & cold free breakfast items. I do not plan to stay at this Travelodge again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBenz062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge_Newport, Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We apologized for inconvenience during your recent stay with us. We are trying to analyze each review as it provides us the area in which we need to improve. We are glad that you like our “bear bite breakfast”.
Our staff is highly train to recognize rentable room condition v/s immediate fix, your candid evaluation provide us chance to retrain our staff and improve. Please give us second chance to prove our quality level and guest comfort. Please do not hesitate to call us directly on Ph# 401-849-4700.
Thank You
Nick
Travelodge
Middletown, RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night, we had a room with 2 queen size beds, the room was very big, had a large refrigerator and microwave, the bathroom was very clean and big. The room was also very clean and comfrotable beds, also great high speed internet. The front desk staff were also very friendly and helpful. If you neeed a place to stay in this area I would highly recommend the Travelodge!

Room Tip: did not use a restaurant, and don't know if there was a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge_Newport, Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so glad you that you recommend Travelodge. We are located just 3 miles away from downtown Newport and close to really good restaurant. Would love to see you again.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.3 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown Newport Area

Property: Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Address: 1185 W Main Rd, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy seaside living at our Travelodge Newport Area / Middletown hotel. Located in a charming small-town community less than 10 minutes from downtown Newport, our Middletown, RI, hotel near Norman Bird Sanctuary puts the beauty of the beachfront and lively culture at your doorstep. Gear up for a fun-filled day with free Bear Bites breakfast, and refresh in our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy a cold drink from your refrigerator and plan your day from the comfort of your spacious hotel room with free Wi-Fi Internet access. You must be 21 to book a room, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travel Lodge
Middletown Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing