We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surpised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
ELKTON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surpised”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Travelodge is known as a bare-bones, economical motel/hotel solution. Although the rooms are not fancy here in Newport, the service is tops and the rooms are exceptionally clean. The grounds are also clean and well taken care of. Will be staying here again in a month.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Danette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge_Newport, Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay. Your feedback is very important for us, as feedback provide us a candid evaluation of our service. Our goal is to make all guests stay pleasant and enjoyable. Every day we try to improve guest services. Again thank you for taking time to write a feedback. We would love to see you back.

Nick
Travelodge,
Middletown, RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    208
    102
    60
    31
See reviews for
179
188
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the Travelodge Middletown prior to a fishing trip and had a great experience.
The front staff person was helpful and friendly while the room was super clean and appeared to be recently renovated with new furniture, bedding, etc.
The price was super low and the quality of the room was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank CTMcPs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge_Newport, General Manager at Travelodge Middletown Newport Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking time to write wonderful review

Brad
General manager
Travelodge, Middletown RI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For those of us who can not afford the $800/night to stay at a restored historic inn, the Newport RI area leaves limited options nearby. Travelodge ended up being the highest rated among the more affordable spots. We went in off-season, so the rate was about $95 for a King room including taxes. My expectation was the property would basically be a motel, so the pleasant surprise was the bed (more like a hotel bed, with what I believe was a patent leather headboard), and there was a lot of lighting all around the room. The carpet had the typical motel musty smell and the bathroom was about the same, worn fixtures an old A/C and fridge (not to mention some barely functional towels), but hey, it all at least worked and gave enough hot water and heat, and the place was pretty quiet, too. Breakfast was alright, at least you can munch on something before finding something more edible later. Admittedly its a few miles away from Newport attractions, but in off-season you can easily find parking all around at the mansions and places to eat/shop.

Room Tip: I's a motel, so all of the rooms face the parking lots and there are no views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown Newport Area

Property: Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Address: 1185 W Main Rd, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy seaside living at our Travelodge Newport Area / Middletown hotel. Located in a charming small-town community less than 10 minutes from downtown Newport, our Middletown, RI, hotel near Norman Bird Sanctuary puts the beauty of the beachfront and lively culture at your doorstep. Gear up for a fun-filled day with free Bear Bites breakfast, and refresh in our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy a cold drink from your refrigerator and plan your day from the comfort of your spacious hotel room with free Wi-Fi Internet access. You must be 21 to book a room, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travel Lodge
Middletown Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing