We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, close to Newport attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend, and we enjoyed it. We had a deluxe room with a comfortable king-sized bed, and it also had a sofa in the room, as well as a mini-fridge and a small microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of counter space, and the whole unit was very clean. There was a small pool and hot tub, but we didn't use - they were filled by lots of kids whenever we looked. There was also a
small exercise room and plenty of free parking. Chili's restaurant is right in the parking lot, and other fast food restaurants are nearby.

The free breakfast was good, and it included coffee/tea/juices/milk, scrambled eggs, bacon, breads, bagels, english muffins, sausage gravy and biscuits, cinnamon rolls, muffins, cereals, yogurts and hard-boiled eggs. Lots of choices. My only complaint would be that they kept running out of things, and didn't replace them quickly. A few times my husband tried to get a cup of tea and the hot water was empty. They ran out of muffins completely one morning by 9:30 (breakfast was served till 11:00 am), and another morning the bagels and bacon were not replenished until we were done eating and were ready to leave. Other than that, we really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely recommend. It was near lots of shops and restaurants, was only a 10 minute drive to most Newport attractions, and was relatively inexpensive compared to hotels in Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsDFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review.

Guests enjoy our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests, and we also offer an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and i stayed at this hotel during the Feb 19th to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. We were looking for a hotel with free breakfast, pool and fitness gym. The hotel had all of that and more, including a hot tub and excellent service. We were so very shocked with the huge breakfast choices to choose from and the availability of the staff to stock up on all the food we needed. The staff catered to our every need when we had one and the bed was delighfully enjoyable. We love this place and will certainly stay at this hotel again, again and again. The price was so right too. We booked through hotwire and paid $49 a night for all this good stuff, WOW!!!! FIVE STAR FOR US!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I was in Newport for work and needed a place to stay overnight. The cheapest hotel in Newport I could find was about $250 including tax. I stayed here for under $90 and it was perfect. The hotel hallways are a bit old however the staff was very friendly and the rooms seemed to be updated recently. I did not use any amenities, I checked in late and left early. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjosh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review.

Guests enjoy our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests, and we also offer an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

There was no cell phone connectivity in the room....had to go out to the car. The room came with minimal supplies -had to go ask for more towels. Front desk forgot to mention that a "scratch-off code" was needed for internet- had to go back to front desk to ask. Internet would not reconnect in morning-spent ten minutes on the phone trying to correct problem. Couch in room had large tear in fabric. No flat screen. Breakfast very minimal. All this for $217.00!! Worst value of our 21 day auto tour

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxroadmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown, RI. As with all our guests, we would like to ensure that our property exceeds your expectations.

We are sorry that you have experienced minor issues with your hotel room during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience. In the future, please report any issues with your guest room to our front desk so that they may be addressed.

Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests. We provide items as based on Holiday Inn Express brand standards, and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. In addition to the complimentary breakfast, guests enjoy the many other amenities we offer including an indoor pool and hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope that you will consider joining us again at the Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The Hotel is OK. Nice size room, with sofa and refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom OK as well. Location is not bad for Newport - about 5 min drive to downtown and mansions. Small gym, swimming pool and WIfi help too. On worse side was breakfast - it was very plain without a shred of imagination of home touch. For $130 a day I would expect it a bit better - at least on quality side.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecexo_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown, RI.

We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the amenities at the hotel including our indoor swimming pool, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site. In addition, as you mentioned, we are conveniently located just a short drive to downtown Newport.

Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests. We provide items as based on Holiday Inn Express brand standards, and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

We hope that you will consider joining us again at the Holiday Inn Express.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for just one night while visiting Newport. We were travelling at short notice and found it very difficult to find accommodation (particularly for just 1 night). We found availability at this hotel and stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds. They supplied a crib for the baby. The room was nice and big, very clean while the beds were very comfortable. It was pretty busy at breakfast next morning but we still managed to get a table as most people are having an express breakfast!!

The hotel was cheaper than most Newport hotels although I still felt it was a bit expensive for just one night. It is located a few miles outside of Newport which suited us fine as we were travelling with young children and so wouldn't be out and about at night.

All in all a very positive experience and I would definitely stay here again if travelling to the Newport area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcjjg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review.

Guests enjoy our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is a favorite amenity of many of our guests, and we also offer an indoor pool, hot tub, fitness facility, business center, Wi-Fi, and Chili’s Restaurant on site.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Room was spacious and clean. The bed was so comfortable, I did not toss and turn like I usually do in hotels. The pillows are embroidered with soft or firm and there were 6. There was an indoor pool and a really nice whirlpool. The location is fine, you do need a car as the hotel is north of the historic district, but so are several other "name" hotels. It was only about 8 minute drive to the mansions area. The historic area of Newport is too big to do it all by walking anyway. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, even got a deal through "Hotwire". Very modern, clean, with friendly staff, continental breakfast with eggs/bacon and free USA Today newspaper

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#8 of 18 in Middletown
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.9 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Address: 855 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $128 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing