We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals go. Why don't you?”
Review of Anthony's Seafood

Anthony's Seafood
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Locals go. Why don't you?”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Anthony's offers fresh seafood at an affordable price. When we take family who are visiting the area, they wish they could transplant the restaurant to their hometown. Our favorites include flounder and chips, fried shrimp, and clam chowder with clam cakes. Other family members have enjoyed lobster, clams, swordfish, and chicken fingers. We occassionally buy crab cakes or fish from the store section and cook it at home. Anthony's is not fancy but if food is your priority this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    227
    80
    28
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great local seafood”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a great locally caught seafood restaurant. Good prices too. The place is not fancy but it is clean and the staff are very good and usually pretty fast on the service. You will enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomS0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh but fried”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is by far the freshest seafood we have found, but most items on the menu are fried. Loved the fried flounder. Did not like the stuffiness, a local favorite, just too much breaking, not enough clams. Huge quantities, enough to take away for another day. Ambience is lacking, pick nic tables, very casual, you must past the seafood sales counted to be seated. Come in your shorts or cut offs. A very popular establishment with locals, so popular in fact, the line can stretch for a long way and parking is hard to find! Instead of waiting, call for take out. Much faster! Try it, if you like fish and fries.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patnvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place for fresh seafood.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are going for atmosphere then don't got there, but if you want fresh, excellent seafood then this is the place to be. The service is excellent and the food is well prepared.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor02842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem just outsife of Newport”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

When you walk in the door, you enter their store that sells fresh seafood. I was impressed that you did not get the odor of seafood but you did get an impressive display of fresh seafood. The one thing I did not like about the restaurant was that you looked at the menu at the entrance into the restaurant part of the building and had to order and pay at the counter. This being my first time there I felt rushed, especially because the menu offers a great variety to choose from. I ordered a seafood platter. The waitress brought our choices fairly quickly and we were presented with huge portions of food. I tried the

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cperry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing