We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal”
Review of Blue Plate Diner

Blue Plate Diner
Ranked #6 of 90 Restaurants in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Diner fare with an upscale, unique twist. Casual atmosphere. High quality, homemade food. Local eggs, local seafood, pancakes, waffles, omelets, burgers, sandwiches, salads, steaks and so much more! Local's favorite.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We ate here for lunch on a Sunday. It was busy, but our service was very good. I had a spinach salad that was very good, and my husband had the best reuben he's ever had!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sass1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    107
    44
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was so good I had breakfast and dinner here for my entire stay lived here.”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Outstanding brisket! Same waitress for breakfast for two weeks. Remembered my favorite meals and prepared a to go cup of coffee automatically.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank brighton4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romulus, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat !!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

On a recent visit to Newport, we found this diner in Middletown. Five of us had lunch here and the food, service and atmosphere were great. The following morning the five of us returned for breakfast. Again the service, food and atmosphere were amazing. The diner is clean, bright, comfy. The service was very good, and everyone was very friendly. We would recommend this diner to anyone who visits the area. Also the prices were very reasonable. Stop in and enjoy !!!!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelot34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent diner with a sense of humor”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went for breakfast and came away happy. Great food, humorous commandments on the wall (e.g. "Thou shalt not worship the golden arches") attentive service and plenty to chose from. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, MA
1 review
“Great Atmosphere, Excellent Service, Terrific Food”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I live in Somerset, MA, but we go out of our way to go to the Blue Plate Diner in Middletown, RI. I discovered this place a few years ago on my way to Newport Grand with my sister, went back with my husband the next night, and we have gone ever since when we have time for the drive.

The Blue Plate has what I think of as "comfort food." While I always say I'm going to try something else on the menu, I always opt for my old standby, the Black Angus Meatloaf. If a place can do meatloaf right, you know they're good:) That said, I'm always watching the plates wandering by our table and I can't say that I've seen anything that doesn't look absolutely delicious!

They also serve breakfast all day, which my husband says is great (how can you really mess up breakfast, right?). We've had the chicken tender appetizer as well, which is excellent, and we've had the barbecue dipping sauce with it - tangy and sweet - just right!

Other menu items include: Oven-Roasted "Mile High" Turkey Dinner, Fish 'n' Chips, Shepherd's Pie, Old Fashioned Pot Roast, Kicked-Up Mac 'n' Cheese, Pan Seared Cod, Shrimp Scampi, Grilled Delmonico Steak, Prime Rib...they have a wide variety of items on the menu, as you can see, from classic comfort food to steak and seafood dishes.

They also have sandwiches and wraps, soups and salads, burger plates, combo meals, and a bar including beer and wine, specialty drinks, and cocktails.

I'd describe the atmosphere as a throwback to the 50's - from the decor to the way everyone greets you with a smile when you come in the door...maybe a contemporary version of a 50's diner. The word "upscale" comes to mind, but I'm fearful of using it and scaring away the casual crowd!

The atmosphere is casual, but the ingredients are anything BUT! The meatloaf isn't ground chuck tossed with a flavoring mix - it's real ground angus beef with real ingredients. The vegetable is a mix of summer squash, zucchini and carrots and is much tastier than the same mix I've had at other places. The mashed potatoes too are yummy! Our food has always come to the table steaming hot, never the slightest bit cold.

Their web site states that they have "over 100 items under $7.99" and it's no lie. My meatloaf is $10.99, but the portion size is generous. They also offer catering and have a function room that can be used for private events.

Great prices, incredible food, terrific service! I can't say enough good things!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eris523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing