We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the way my fiance felt about the place”
Review of Sea Whale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Whale Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My fiance loved it and so did I, but the most important thing is that she was very happy. we were supposed to stay for one night then go find another place, we loved it so much that we checked out then came back and rebooked the same room for another night. the scene is lovely, the owners are very dedicated and very friendly and are always there to help answer questions and even give u tips to where to go and how to get to fun filled places. the room is clean and the bathroom is spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conflectiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Sea Whale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our son is a freshman at college in Newport, and we were looking for a "home away
from home" while visiting him. We found it at the Sea Whale. A charming, spotless
motel less than ten minutes from Newport. The owners are very engaging people, and on site at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again.
If you're looking for a fancy chain hotel with lots of amenities, this is not the place for you.
But if you're looking for a clean, quiet place away from the hustle and bustle, check out
the Sea Whale!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michele Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We had a family weddiing and a number of us stayed there. I think we took up 6 or 7 rooms. Right from the begining, the owners were so helpful with planning our trip, Meeting our needs for rooms and placement of rooms with family, sending us contact numbers for taxi, van service, & advice for area needs and places to eat... Really helpful. I can't say enough about them, They were great. Everything was close by. Walking distance to some good food, and beach..
We stayed on the upper level. The water view was nice, roomy deck, the room was very comfortable. Had a frig. coffee maker, hair dryer. TV, radio/alarm clock. A small table with a couple of chairs.... comfy queen bed and a pull out sofa. Not a huge room, but plenty roomy for our needs. Very clean. We were very pleased ! Would go back there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdog1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My husband and I have been to Newport Several times and this time we were looking for a place to accomodate our 7 year old Grandson, along with my sister. I came across the Sea Whale Motel on the internet and remember seeing it when we were on one of our trips before. I saw that it got really good reviews and looked at the website. We got a deck room. The view is awesome! The sunsets are beautiful. We got the pay 3 stay 4 nights special. The value was excellent! The room and bathroom was so fresh and clean. The owners, Teri and Jeff are the best! They provided us with friendly service and advised us on the best restaurants in the area. Jeff was great with my grandson. He gave him bread to feed the ducks that gathered each night on the back lawn. My grandson was thrilled. The yard is kept immaculate and the flowers are gorgeous. Best place we ever stayed in Newport! (Well it's a stone throw away from Newport, in Middletown..but you feel like you are right in Newport.) There is a short walk to the beach, close to restaurants and the Cliff walk. We are going back as soon as we can. And we are staying at the Sea Whale because we found our spot there!
Very Relaxing, Quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb316400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Given the price of accomodation in Newport and Middletown, this has to be the best value around. We paid around $130 when everyrthing else was way more, unless you were prepared to stay miles away. It's within walking distance to a number of restaurants and the beach, but 10 minutes drive from downtown Newport and 5 minutes from the Cliff Walk and all the Mansions.

The view is great, we arrived early and were given our room immediately, which though a bit small, was clean and comfortable. The owners were great- giving really good advice on restaurants and where to go and when. It's way nicer then the cookie cutter impersonal options offerd by the chain motels. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pafuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Owners live on the property of this small motel on a small lake/reservoir just 10 minutes away from Thames St in Newport. It's just far enough away to provide a little peace and quiet. You can walk to the beach and have to go to the Atlantic Grille for breakfast a block away. Ask for the stay four pay for 3 special. Rates go up on Fridays and Saturdays, but if the 4th night falls on eother day, it's free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The Sea Whale Motel is a very pleasent stay. Great location, 400 yrds from Easton Beach & Cliff Walk. Very Clean and the owners are very helpful with area information.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadRetied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#7 of 18 in Middletown
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Newport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whale Motel

Address: 150 Aquidneck Ave, Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Whale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-occupied motel located on Easton's Pond in the Atlantic Beach District of Middletown. Walk to beaches (400 yards to First Beach / Easton's Beach / Newport Beach) and the Rotunda, the Newport Cliff Walk and local dining including Johnny's Atlantic Beach Club ("The ABC"), Flo's Clam Shack, Easton's Point Pub, Atlantic Grille, Aquidneck Pizza, Tickets Sports Bar and many more. Two miles to downtown Newport and mansions. All rooms are non-smoking and have the following amenities: coffee-makers with morning coffee and tea, cable TV with remote, phones with free local calls, microwaves, refrigerators, free high-speed wireless internet access (must have own laptop), blow-dryers, irons and boards, private bath/shower combo, private entrances on both levels. Sorry... no pets or animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Whale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Whale Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing