We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasure !”
Review of Sea Whale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Whale Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Pleasure !”
Reviewed October 17, 2006

stayed here columbus day weekend staff very attentive room immaculately clean very safe and quiet far enough from everything but minutes away to everything would definitely stay again thank you very much sea whale for your hospitality

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poppa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

Don't misinterpret the title of my review as a negative. In this age of ever upscale, cold and impersonal so-called Five Star hotels, the Sea Whale was a breath of fresh air that transported me back to the friendly, family-owned motels of my childhood.

I appreciated the owners of the motel who were always on the premises, and were out early in the morning preceding the Fourth of July weekend installing small American flags and red, white and blue pinwheels in the flower boxes that adorned the deck of each guest room. It was no surprise that the premises, both outdoors and inside, were immaculate.

The location is perfect as you can walk to an excellent beach and downtown Newport itself is a mere five minute drive away. The hotel is on a small pond, and if you enjoy bird watching, you can take your early morning coffee out on the deck and see red winged blackbirds and snowy egrets joust for position for their early morning catch. The sea air was rejuvenating and reinvigorating.

A great clamshack was a short walk away. It is called Flo's Clamshack, and while it is known for great fried clams and other fried foods, if you go upstairs to their raw bar, you can indulge in fresh fish that is not fried, such as peel and eat shrimp, oysters or cherrystones on the half shell, crabmeat, and special baked or broiled dishes of the day. Another great restaurant in Newport is called 22 Bowen on Bowen's Wharf in Newport. We also drove to Westport Mass to the Back Eddy restaurant right near Horseneck Beach. There are great liitle trips you can take...Little Compton RI and some of the local vineyards.

I can't wait to go back, in any season, winter or summer. It is also a short distance from great golf at the Newport National golf course. If you enjoy a great low key and relaxing get away, go to the Sea Whale. If, however, you prefer to know the thread count of your bed sheets and expect very high end amenities, there are probably other choices in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank berkwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2005

My friend and I stayed at the Sea Whale the Weekend of 11/4/05. I made the reservation based on the reviews from TripAdvisor, and all I can say is, we were not disappointed.

As I was standing in the security line, working my way towards the gate in Philadelphia to catch my 5:00 PM Friday night flight to Providence. My telephone rang. It was Terri, the owner of the Sea Whale, reconfirming the reservation that I had made for the weekend. I appreciated the call.

We arrived at the Sea Whale around 8:00 PM. We met Terri and her husband, Jeff. They live on the property, and the pride of ownership certainly shows. The office was cute and they had plenty of brochures and information for us to begin planning our weekend. They helped us choose a restaurant for dinner, and gave us great directions. They also gave us discounts coupons for the Atlantic Beach Club and told us about the hotel across the street for breakfast.

If possible, try to get an upper floor room as they offer a very nice view. The room was clean and comfortable. We had two adjoining rooms with king beds. There was a full size coffee pot and a good size refrigerator in each of the rooms. There was a pullout sofa and a small table with two chairs. There was coffee, tea, cream and sugar waiting and ready for my morning cup. The upper floor rooms have large sliders that overlook a huge pond. I enjoyed my morning; drinking a cup of coffee and watching the ducks swim on the pond. I found the whole atmosphere very tranquil.

The hotel is not in downtown Newport. However, it is only about a five-minute car-ride away. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the hotel and its location.

The next time I’m in Newport, I’ll be sure to stay at the Sea Whale.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

This motel was absolutely perfect. We have been to Newport three or four times and have stayed in "pricier" places but this beats them all. Since we were with two other couples this time, we were trying to find something in the moderate price range. The motel was lovely, the rooms were immaculate, and the location was perfect. The owners were friendly and helpful. We will definitely choose this one again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bcbcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2005

We have been staying at the Sea Whale for the last five years, even before the present owners took over. The motel is very clean and within walking distance to the beach. We stop on our way to pick up coffee and the newspapers every morning and keep walking right onto the beach. The owners are delightful and very accomodating and they remember us from year to year. If you stay from Monday through Friday, the weekend is thrown in for free. The restaurants within walking distance are very good and quite reasonable during the week. We'll drive into Newport a few times during our stay, but it's very pleasant not to be in the middle of town with all the noise and activity. A very good bargain compared to the other resort prices in the area.

Stayed August 2000
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 20, 2005

This motel is right next to Newport, RI. It has a nice view of Easton's Pond and the cliff walk. The rooms are clean and just fine. It has a nice little balcony to watch to sunset.

We choose to stay in Middleton rather than Newport because the accomodations are less expensive. I choose the Sea Whale based on price and was so happy to find the inn was in walking distance of the Newport Cliff walk and mansions and that the view was nice.

When I saw the other most of the other Middleton chain hotels they were sandwiched in between strip malls and had no view.

For the price this is an excellent place to stay. The owners are nice too.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
0.0 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#8 of 18 in Middletown
56 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whale Motel

Property: Sea Whale Motel
Address: 150 Aquidneck Ave, Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Whale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-occupied motel located on Easton's Pond in the Atlantic Beach District of Middletown. Walk to beaches (400 yards to First Beach / Easton's Beach / Newport Beach) and the Rotunda, the Newport Cliff Walk and local dining including Johnny's Atlantic Beach Club ("The ABC"), Flo's Clam Shack, Easton's Point Pub, Atlantic Grille, Aquidneck Pizza, Tickets Sports Bar and many more. Two miles to downtown Newport and mansions. All rooms are non-smoking and have the following amenities: coffee-makers with morning coffee and tea, cable TV with remote, phones with free local calls, microwaves, refrigerators, free high-speed wireless internet access (must have own laptop), blow-dryers, irons and boards, private bath/shower combo, private entrances on both levels. Sorry... no pets or animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sea Whale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Whale Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing