We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay Newport rates and have owner on premises”
Review of Sea Whale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Whale Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't pay Newport rates and have owner on premises”
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Owners live on the property of this small motel on a small lake/reservoir just 10 minutes away from Thames St in Newport. It's just far enough away to provide a little peace and quiet. You can walk to the beach and have to go to the Atlantic Grille for breakfast a block away. Ask for the stay four pay for 3 special. Rates go up on Fridays and Saturdays, but if the 4th night falls on eother day, it's free.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The Sea Whale Motel is a very pleasent stay. Great location, 400 yrds from Easton Beach & Cliff Walk. Very Clean and the owners are very helpful with area information.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadRetied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is one of the best values in the area. Although it is in Middletown, it is just across the line from Newport. It is less than 1 mile from the Cliff Walk. Also, it is just down the street from the Atlantic Grille, which is the best breakfast place in the area. Everyone was incredibly friendly. They even gave me a free room upgrade. Every room has a view of the ocean. The rooms were spacious, clean, and quiet. They also have refrigerators in the rooms, which is nice if you are staying a few days or have kids. In all, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coachvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed here as part of our New England trip. We can only endorse all the excellent reviews. Nice location overlooking a small lake and only 5 minutes drive from downtown Newport. The owner could not have been more helpful and gave us a 10% discount voucher for the Atlantic Restaurant, only 5 mins walk and excellent.
Do try and get a Deck room which are on the first floor for a really light and airy room

  • Liked — Deck and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuppetKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Really nice motel. Lovely owners who were very friendly. Had a deck level room which had a great seating area outside overlooking the water, and a really convenient front door opening onto the road which really helped with unloading of luggage. Clsoe to First Beach - five minute walk - and close to plenty of eating places - and only a two mile drive to Downtown Newport. Would go back again - and stay longer.

  • Liked — The owners. Location.
  • Disliked — No breakfast - but no biggy - plenty of close eating places
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaMMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We were invited to a wedding on Jazz weekend when all the hotel prices are doubled. I had noticed the Sea Whale when we had gone to Newport before, the flowers and the grounds are impressive. So, I called and made the booking. Well! what a nice surprise. All though the rooms are small the amenities were large and it is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. Sitting on the back deck overlooking thewater was a delight,and being able to park at the door and not have to lug the luggage like in the big hotels is very nice when you are older like us. We would stay again anytime.

  • Liked — Water view from the large back deck and the flowers around the grounds
  • Disliked — A little on the small side, but super clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NanaPoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

stayed here columbus day weekend staff very attentive room immaculately clean very safe and quiet far enough from everything but minutes away to everything would definitely stay again thank you very much sea whale for your hospitality

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poppa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#8 of 18 in Middletown
56 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Whale Motel

Property: Sea Whale Motel
Address: 150 Aquidneck Ave, Route 138A, Middletown, RI 02842-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Middletown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
#4 Family Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Whale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-occupied motel located on Easton's Pond in the Atlantic Beach District of Middletown. Walk to beaches (400 yards to First Beach / Easton's Beach / Newport Beach) and the Rotunda, the Newport Cliff Walk and local dining including Johnny's Atlantic Beach Club ("The ABC"), Flo's Clam Shack, Easton's Point Pub, Atlantic Grille, Aquidneck Pizza, Tickets Sports Bar and many more. Two miles to downtown Newport and mansions. All rooms are non-smoking and have the following amenities: coffee-makers with morning coffee and tea, cable TV with remote, phones with free local calls, microwaves, refrigerators, free high-speed wireless internet access (must have own laptop), blow-dryers, irons and boards, private bath/shower combo, private entrances on both levels. Sorry... no pets or animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Whale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Whale Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing