We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would return to the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Marietta,Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I would return to the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was our second visit to the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We were there in 2005 and just this past June. The changes they've made since our last visit were incredible. The rooms and addition were great. We stayed in the historic hotel. Our room had a view of the Cliff Walk and Ocean. We woke each morning to hearing the crashing of the waves! My one and only complaint is how bright and early the sun comes up. They could use light blocking shades. We had problems with our TV shortly after we arrived and someone came up to fix it within ten minutes!! Amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel is so quaint and charming I don't know how anything in Newport/Middleton could be any better!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    253
    136
    90
    95
See reviews for
284
386
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massapequa park, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

My wife and I booked a two night getaway and were enjoying our stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We stayed in the new suite section and our room was beautiful and very clean. We enjoyed the rooftop hot tub and firepit with surround sound music and the beach was right across the street. Unfortunately, during our second evening, our van was involved in an accident while we were at the beach. The staff at the hotel were incredible in helping us contacting the people we needed to contact and providing us everything we needed to in order to clean out the glass and blood from the van. Due to the circumstances, we decided to end our stay prematurely and the hotel was courteous enough to give us a complete refund for the second night. They proved to us that they care about their guests. Thank you Tyrell, Rachelle, Geoff, and the hotel manager Phil Forte!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmike47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

i rented this hotel for an anniversary trip with my girlfriend and let me tell you- i look like the best dude in the world right now. this place made my girlfriend drool with its in room pedicures and super nice beds. the fillet in the restaurant was delicious and cooked rare just like she asked for. our room is on the same building as the restaurant which is not suites but our room is large and very clean. starbucks coffee in the room is a nice touch. shower is really nice and not usually something good about hotels. we went to second beach, which was really beautiful. tomorrow we will probably go back and walk this time (don't pay the $15 for parking because yuo can walk from the hotel). i worked out in the gym this morning which was not very big but looked totally new. not for a body builder but good for managing a little cardio on vacation. surfing would be better if there were waves. overall newport is a pretty nice town but this hotel is the highlight. i am getting points off this for months!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Although there was a delay in getting a room and the one we were sent to was not ready, the hotel is pretty good. The room, while clean, did have a noticeable musty odor. The breakfast waitress was very nice and breakfast was tasty. The hotel is directly across from First Beach and has a hot tub and a fire pit on the rooftop of the suites building. Not the best but the price was reasonable.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shantaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed in the new suite addition. Checked in right away at 2:45 p.m. and went right to our room. Very nice room. Very spacious and brand-new feeling. Great shower water pressure and jacuzzi is really nice (my husband is a plumber and said they spared no expense on the fixtures!)

I must say, like everyone else says about this hotel, is its very deceptive advertising. When I showed my husband the brochure, before we got there, he said "wow, right on the beach". I knew better but waited until we got there for his reaction. He said "how can they say they are on the beach when you have to cros.s a major highway". And he is right. Crossing Memorial Boulevard is a nightmare. There is a designated crosswalk and yield to pedestrian signs, but 95% of the drivers ignore it.

Another minus is the cleaning crew. Most rooms are not made up until after 3:30 p.m. I had to tell the cleaning lady at 3:00 most days that we were leaving and feel free to make up the room (our "make up room" light was on since 10:00 a.m.) and we got back at 5:00 or so and they were just finishing. And the air conditioning unit in the closet made so much noise you couldn't hear the t.v. when it was on.

If you are looking for a hotel on the beach, skip Newport and the Easton Beach Hotel & Suites (which this should be named) and go to a true beach resort. If you want to stay away from the tourist trap that is downtown Newport, this hotel is for you. Very nice place, just not in Newport and not on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel has two buildings. One is a renovated historic landmark; the other a newer, modern structure containing larger rooms/suites. We booked in the historic building as that was all that was available when we made our reservations. We didn't see the newer facility but the renovated rooms are clean, everything works, decent looking. But ours was divided into two small rooms with a double bed in each. It's a chopped up design. The bathroom's small and there is no desk to set anything down on like a laptop. It has high speed internet but the signal is weak on the second floor. It's a short drive from the center of Newport. The small bar has a neat view and the staff is very friendly. Parking is adequate and safe. If we were to return we'd try to get the new building which is more expensive but likely to be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We booked the room in June 09 for a room with 2 queen beds. We received an email confirmation. We arrived and were given a room with 2 double beds. When I called to complain they said sorry but there was nothing they could do and we still had to pay the same rate. Management said they would call back and never did. The Web site shows a beautiful beach. Wrong! This hotel is on a very busy street you must cross to get to a small beach that smelled so mad we could not take it. We stayed in the historic section of the hotel. The suites are in newer building and that is where pool and hot tub are. n our second day there we came back to our room after hiking all day to find our room was never cleaned. Called the front desk and they said someone would be up right away. No one came. Went down to the lobby and found 3 other couples with the same problem. The room was finally cleaned at 330pm. Beware ... the hotel, rooms and beach look nothing like what you see on that web site.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwtwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Dear iwtwed,

Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate your feedback.

We apologize that we were unable to give you a room with two queen beds. Our hotel is generally full during the season, and thus changes are difficult. However, all of the rooms in our hotel have been recently renovated and feature high quality linens, marble bathrooms, large windows and a location directly across from the beach.

We find that Newport Beach is very popular with our guests due to the fact that it is across from the hotel and has a carousel, aquarium, playground, meeting/event space, and skatepark in addition to the beach. However, if this beach is not to your preference, there are several other beaches near the hotel, including Second Beach, which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please refer to the guest services directory in your hotel room for additional beach selections.

Our hotel has extremely rigorous cleaning standards, thus the completion of each room takes a substantial amount of time. We apologize that your room had not been cleaned when you returned and that we were not able to provide a housekeeper immediately. We have shared this issue with our housekeeping supervisor.

The amenities for the hotel are split between the two buildings, but all guests have access to all of the amenities. Specifically, the suites building contains the pool, and rooftop hot tub/ firepit, while the historic building contains our restaurant and the brand new gym and spa facility. Additionally, the hotel is directly across from Newport Beach. We encourage you to take advantage of all of these amenities during your stay.

We hope that you will join us again at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing