We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building must be avoided. Great Restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old building must be avoided. Great Restaurant.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We always visit Newport several times a year from New York CIty. We normally stay in town but summers are difficult depending on the day or if there is a festival. We always get a suite at this property but they were sold out. We reluctantly agreed to an old building room with no view. Not good. Way too small for two adults. We will stick with the suite next time.
Try the restaurant. Lyle is the Chef and owner. Our special place at Newport. The salmon is fantastic.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a suite if you can get it. Avoid the old building at all cost. Go midweek and book ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix212401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    258
    139
    91
    97
See reviews for
290
391
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely time !!! We went during the heat wave in July and had to warm up the room a bit because the a/c was over the top !!! I was afraid that since we were in the older section, the a/c wouldnt be up to par, but we found just the opposite. We heard the guests next door arriving one evening, but it was in the later part of the evening and most of the hotel was quiet.....but never heard them again........had an opportunity to eat in their restaurant which was great !!! Loved the fact that it was across from the beach and out of the "busyness" of Newport itself.......but close enough to easily enjoy the downtown. Definitely would recommend to friends and definitely will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beware - restaurant doesn't belong to hotel and uses 'cheats' to get tips out of you. Adds non deductible 18 % then says you should know it will be added! (++) on set menu.
Rooms in old building very poor, noisy and small.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms in old building. Don't use restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I called the hotel directly and spoke with reservations at length re: need for suite for 2 nights and handicap accessibility. At check in, I was informed there was no record of second night or request for accessibility. No efforts were made to amend this and I spent my first hour in Newport making alternate arrangements.

Room Tip: Poor customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed for a second time at this convenient spot! Both experiences were very positive. I would recommend for any family, especially with little ones...our little guy is 3 1/2 now. Being so close to the beach is more than helpful when lugging all the beach toys! The beach is flat and wide so perfect for a day of building in the sand. The beach (Easton's) had red tide in spots..but we sat where it wasn't too prevalent and it didn't interfere with our day. It's a beautiful location with the mansions in site. Besides convenient, the hotel is very clean and cozy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had to make two quick calls to the front desk. At first we didn't think our air conditioning was working right, but before we got help, realized it was fine. Also, we struggled with more "technology", the t.v. ; )...we got help within minutes. The food was great in the restaurant for breakfast. We didn't eat dinner there, but the menu looked great and would definately not hesitate to do so upon returning. I had read reviews about noise...we had a wonderful ocean view (with street down below) and never heard a car, so maybe without the a/c on it is a factor but it certainly didn't bother us. Hope you can enjoy a trip as much as we did!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor..very quiet and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Picked up a last minute discounted 1 bedroom in the suites building for a 3 night stay. The prices before the discount are a bit steep, but given it's proximity to be expected. Check in is at 4, which is already on the later side and at 4 the room still wasn't ready. Not sure what the delay was, but they ended up putting us in another 1 bedroom which was. This wasn't offered initially as an option until I mentioned the check in time as the room they gave us was still a standard 1 bedroom with a pond side view. The room itself was great, clean and as expected when looking at their website. The hotel is right across from First beach and a short walk. The beach itself is nice but the red seaweed can be a bit of a problem at certain spots on the beach. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience and we will be looking to return for another visit. If we can find another discounted rate, that would make it an easier sell.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've visited Newport Beach Hotel and suites two years in a row for 4th of July. The newer renovated building has beautiful rooms. The bathrooms are luxurious and most have water views. We got a 2 bedroom suite this year, and there were three couples, plenty of space. The girls at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also a hop away from Atlantic Beach Club and Easton beach, the hot spots for the 4th of July. If the main part of your visit is for the manions and shops and restaurants of Thames, you may be better off at a hotel closer to that area, but we were fine with taking a cheap cab down to the bars. It was very nice to wake up and just walk across the street to get on the beach and cliff walk.

My only real complaint is that you have to pay for parking. When rooms are over $700 a night, to add on another $12/day/car for parking is just plain rude. Especially since the lot was never full. Despite the parking, I will probably look to return next year!

Room Tip: Def stay in the renovated building- if a family or multiple couples spring for the suites, well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmeg501x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#13 of 18 in Middletown
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing