We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our trip to Newport. I was expecting alittle nicer than what we actually encountered based on the pictures of the website. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and our room was very small and cramped. The view from our room was of the siding and roof of the room next to us. The furniture was updated and everything was clean, just very awkwardly situated and cramped as far as the room. It is located across from Eastons Beach and the cliff walks are not too far away. They did let us check in early which was great!

Room Tip: There is a newer part of the hotel which I imagine has nicer laid out rooms than the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    253
    136
    90
    95
See reviews for
284
386
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I spent a weekend here with my girlfriends and stayed in a beautiful two bedroom suite. It was so spacious, nucely decorated and comfortable. The open layout for the kitchen and living room made you feel like you were in a friend's home- with the added bonus of room service! We enjoyed the sunset in the adjacent rooftop hot tub. You also have easy access to the beach and the cliff walk.

We really enjoyed ourselves in Newport, and staying at this hotel made the trip just right!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panonbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Another great extended stay! Our suite had two large king bedrooms with a pullout sofa in the living room and a fully equipped kitchen...very spacious! We enjoyed the indoor pool and outdoor deck with jacuzzi. Even got to workout in the gym. Love the amenities! The location of the hotel is perfectly situated across from the beach and there are restaurants within walking distance too. The hotel makes our trip! We get to see all of the area’s attractions and return to wonderful accommodations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Brought Mom for Mother's Day getaway. Usually stay in town and walk everywhere but not an option this trip. However, this hotel is only a 5 minute drive from town and the mansions. Walkable if you're in relatively good shape. We had a very nice good size room with 2 queen beds and ocean view. Price was quite a bit better than in town. Definitely an older building with exposed pipes blended into the decor (remember Historic). Bathrooms are clean with plenty of hot water. (Some paint peeling on ceiling above the shower.) the desk staff were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping didn't empty one wastebasket one day and I had to request another washcloth and hand towel both days. Not sure why only one hand towel and washcloth per bathroom? Minor inconvenience and it was easy to resolve. Mattresses and pillows comfy. Fitness center small but looked adequate. Didn't need it since weather was fine and walking/jogging along the beach to the Cliff Walk was better than indoor workout. Overall, price was better than staying in town and nice to have the beach across the street. Going back in a week for another stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giddyupgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

While this hotel is technically NOT in Newport--it's perfectly located, within walking distance of the cliff walk and right across the street from the beach. This would be a great choice to go with children, since there's a lot going on in the area. The hotel has an indoor pool and an outdoor rooftop jacuzzi plus spa and guest laundry. We paid $149. off season and had a beautiful corner room with a view of the beach (#343), a living room and bedroom, two HDTV's, refrigerator and every possible amenity. There's even a heat lamp in the bathroom, which I really appreciated, as well as soft robes and slippers. The beds and bedding were luxurious and the room was well lit. The front desk was very efficient and polite. We had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: #343 had a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my FI when we had to come up to RI to get our marriage license. Wanted to try one of the "newport area" hotels in the off-season. We stayed in the older section, had a king sized bed with an ocean view.

Thoughts on hotel: The room was small, but had a fridge, which was a nice touch. The bed linens were very nice, comforter was good, and my FI thought the bed was super comfortable. Toilet was omg scary loud when it flushes...no seriously, you'll think its about to launch into space! The ocean front rooms have to deal with constant traffic noise from the Very Busy main road right in front of the hotel. And in summer it is busy at all times, so just a word of warning. The main part of the hotel is very small....and the front entry way doors which are automatic doors, make the biggest racket I have ever when they open and close. Management, if you read this, replace/fix those doors! The sound is atrocious and made me wonder what else was breaking down and not being fixed in the hotel... For the couple who said there was no elevator...there is, but it is not very well marked. The stairs are steep and narrow and neverending...do not recommend taking them unless you are deliberately seeking a workout.

Beach across the way is very nice, watch out for red tide in the summer. Hotel is close to a nice assortment of restaurants, covers all price points. In the summer, try the world famous lobster rolls at the beach food shack...best tasting with a great price!!

Overall, this hotel was just ok. It suited our purposes and we got the off-season rate. I enjoyed being so close to the beach. But if I had paid the full-price summer rate I would have been seriously pissed off.... The rooms were very very tiny and the hotel itself doesn't have lots of charm or amenities. The hotel needs some updating on exterior features,and better sound-proofed windows for rooms near the heavily traveled roads...which are probably all of the rooms. I never did find the pool, hot tub, rooftop anything, or any of the other amenities and features of this hotel...staff never mentioned it or pointed out how to get to any of the facilities and I don't remember seeing any signs. Overall just ok. I enjoyed my stay but was expecting better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family and friends gathered at your hotel for the wedding of my daughter. Some family were in the historic building( as was I), and others an easy walk to the newer building. Both accommodations were just wonderful.
High end finishes, absolutely every amenity, gorgeous room appointments and friendly and efficient staff made our stay so memorable.
I will be back for a summer visit!

Room Tip: Try the 4th floor in the historic building, the dormers lend a really wonderful feel to the rooms. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing