We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Middletown
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I never know what to think when I pour over the reviews. They often have me worried, but we chose well. Tips: book directly from hotel's website or call, know that the historic building has smaller rooms but better views, book a spa service while you're there! If you stay in the historic building you will need to walk across the parking lot to the indoor pool, but an elevator is provided. Being across the street from Easton's beach is very convenient.

Amazing view from our room facing the beach, suite had two equally sized rooms each with a king bed, each had large tv and microwave/fridge combo that was an added bonus. My husband surprised me with a massage and foot treatment with Laurie Ann. She was exceptionally talented and courteous -highly recommend!

Room Tip: Tips: book directly from hotel's website or call, know that the historic building has smaller ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    250
    133
    90
    93
See reviews for
283
377
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Mills, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved this place! Walking distance to the beach and the cliff walk. We stayed in the older section and the room was a little chopped up and small...but all the details..the crown molding, the wonderful bedding, Frig and large TV...what more could you want. We had a very romantic sunset in the roof top hot tub. The pool was nice...but why do kids need cartoons full blast in the pool. We had a great dinner (shrimp and a steak) in the dinning room. The staff was helpful and cheerful! We will be back and most likely try another of theirr properties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJfrmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We came for a short trip over spring vacation. The suite, in the new section, was terrific! Clean and spacious. The kids loved the pool (it's tiny though and can get very crowded), indoor and rooftop hot tubs. The beach is right across the street and tje cliff walk is only a short distance. Newport is charming and there were lots of family friendly activities. The only draw back to this hotel is the abysmally bad customer service. The desk staff was rude and it was almost impossible to get housekeeping. They did not refresh our room each day. That said, how much the kids loved the amenities and the overall good family trip out weighed the annoyances of dealing with the hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Admittedly we arrived at this hotel the night after Hurricane Sandy but we were disappointed. No restaurant, no breakfast, no bar, no swimming pool, virtually no staff except for a receptionist. The bedroom was large, clean and comfortable with amazing views over Easton Beach towards all the big mansions. The weather was not that warm so we did not open any windows. Had we done there would definitely have been a noise problem. Hotel pictures all show the hotel with what appears to be garden down to the beach. The rather busy main road between the hotel and garden has been cleverly airbrushed out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We landed at JFK for a week-long vacation in N.E. states and our first stop for two nights was the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. I had booked a suite in the newer section of the hotel and this proved to be the right choice after a long 18-hr journey of getting there. The rooms were very clean, nicely and modernly decorated, all amenities in the kitchen/hall area. We had a view of the pond at the rear side and not the ocean but that gave a quieter and calm perspective. The hotel staff were very friendly. We used it as a base for our nearby excursions. I highly recommend this hotel for a long weekend in the area.

Room Tip: Don't know about the original building but the newer addition seems to be spacier?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrb6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in the "old part" of the hotel in a queen room with beach view. The room was nice but not as pictured in my reservation website. The room is clean and you have enough space. Well located, walking distance from the Cliff Walk. You have to pay for the parking (10$) but the wifi is free and good.
If you want to go to the swimming pool it's in the new building which is a little bit annoying in the winter time.
So for the price it's a good value but if you want to have something more modern do not hesitate and have an upgrade in the suite's building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This review is very overdue, I stayed here in August 2008, and it was very luxurious. It was like having your own condo on the beach, we stayed in the 2 king, 2 bathroom suite. It came with kitchen and laundry, all the way down to a doorbell. If you want walking distance to the beach with luxury, this is the hotel to stay in. However you need to drive to other attractions, hence the 4 for location

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing