We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
346
273
152
98
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
273
152
98
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingfire pithot tubacross the streetthe cliffrooftop deckoff seasonocean viewliving roomwasher dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomflo's clam shackfull kitcheneaston's beachgreat roomindoor poolfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 974 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If this were a European hotel, it may have gotten a star or two more for the room. But the room was the smallest I've ever stayed in, ever. Fine the have fridge and microwave, but you need to climb around it at night getting to the bathroom. The bathroom was a good size and had a glimpse of the ocean. The main room looked out to a eave from the corner of the building that was basically blocking most light into the room. Absolutely disappointed. I was offered to upgrade to a larger king size for additional money (we had already upgraded to the king) or go back down to a larger room with a Queen size bed. We opted to stay but it was a real toss up. I hate this room. Feels claustrophobic. Do yourself a favor and make sure you understand the better reviews are for the newer building across the way and NOT this cubby hole for a room. This is room 479 so avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnieV1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here when we visited Newport for my son's graduation from Navy Officer Candidate School. The corner suite gave us a comfortable and private place to sit and visit, play cards, watch television and relax in the home-like environment my son missed so much during training. The staff were very accomodating about providing an extra dinette chair and dishes for use during our stay. Our visit was at the end of November and everything was quiet and peaceful. The views were beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff was friendly and the amenities were great. We stayed in the new building. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathroom was larger than what we expected, and the living room was designed well (not huge, but organized well). Although we didn't use the pool or rooftop deck, both looked great. The building is also walking distance from a pretty decent beach, and a five minute drive to Newport. The only knock on the place is that the restaurant wasn't terrific, however there are about a half dozen good places to eat within a couple blocks. Overall, I couldn't ask for anything else with regard to the room and building, the neighborhood was quiet and right on the water, and it's close to everything I wanted/needed. You're also getting a great deal since they aren't charging "Newport" rates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knock157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed after Hurricane Sandy hit. Elevator out but stair were fine. Stairwells were clean and carpeted. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the top floor is a "party" room. The noise was ridiculous! Our tv shook, light fixtures swayed and we kept calling the front desk. This started at 7pm and went on till 3:30. Our small children kept asking us what the noises were. They were actually scared and slept in our bed while we laid there trying to sleep. They eventually kicked them out but it was already too late to matter. I did speak to an executive at the located a few days later and waited to write the review. It's been over a month and he didn't follow through with what he said. Very disappointing. Overall, the hotel is beautiful! But I would not stay there. I read a few reviews complaining about the same things. Wish we would have listened. We were there in the off season, and the executive told me they have security to handle all this in the peak season. I can't even imagine how loud it is then! The staff was very friendly and spoke very clear english. Again, it was beautiful but if you need to sleep think twice before you book.

Room Tip: no room service, you must cross the street to get food at their restaurant if you stay in the newer building. The food is good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WCfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites-exactly one year apart-and both times we have enjoyed our stay. This hotel is an historic hotel, and as such, is a little eccentric. This time we had to take our bags up a steep winding staircase to our room-but it was spacious and the bed was so, so comfortable. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant. The food was good and the staff friendly. The front desk staff was also very friendly. It isn't a 5 star resort-just a very very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs make sure that you talk about it when you make your reservation. There are lots of rooms without this issue.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marathon-Mama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews