We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here when we visited Newport for my son's graduation from Navy Officer Candidate School. The corner suite gave us a comfortable and private place to sit and visit, play cards, watch television and relax in the home-like environment my son missed so much during training. The staff were very accomodating about providing an extra dinette chair and dishes for use during our stay. Our visit was at the end of November and everything was quiet and peaceful. The views were beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 946 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff was friendly and the amenities were great. We stayed in the new building. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathroom was larger than what we expected, and the living room was designed well (not huge, but organized well). Although we didn't use the pool or rooftop deck, both looked great. The building is also walking distance from a pretty decent beach, and a five minute drive to Newport. The only knock on the place is that the restaurant wasn't terrific, however there are about a half dozen good places to eat within a couple blocks. Overall, I couldn't ask for anything else with regard to the room and building, the neighborhood was quiet and right on the water, and it's close to everything I wanted/needed. You're also getting a great deal since they aren't charging "Newport" rates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knock157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed after Hurricane Sandy hit. Elevator out but stair were fine. Stairwells were clean and carpeted. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the top floor is a "party" room. The noise was ridiculous! Our tv shook, light fixtures swayed and we kept calling the front desk. This started at 7pm and went on till 3:30. Our small children kept asking us what the noises were. They were actually scared and slept in our bed while we laid there trying to sleep. They eventually kicked them out but it was already too late to matter. I did speak to an executive at the located a few days later and waited to write the review. It's been over a month and he didn't follow through with what he said. Very disappointing. Overall, the hotel is beautiful! But I would not stay there. I read a few reviews complaining about the same things. Wish we would have listened. We were there in the off season, and the executive told me they have security to handle all this in the peak season. I can't even imagine how loud it is then! The staff was very friendly and spoke very clear english. Again, it was beautiful but if you need to sleep think twice before you book.

Room Tip: no room service, you must cross the street to get food at their restaurant if you stay in the newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WCfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites-exactly one year apart-and both times we have enjoyed our stay. This hotel is an historic hotel, and as such, is a little eccentric. This time we had to take our bags up a steep winding staircase to our room-but it was spacious and the bed was so, so comfortable. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant. The food was good and the staff friendly. The front desk staff was also very friendly. It isn't a 5 star resort-just a very very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs make sure that you talk about it when you make your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marathon-Mama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with some girlfriends for a girls weekend. We were greeted with friendly staff. I had stayed here before but my friends had not. We were explained all the accommodations. Our suite was amazing and the view was devine. It was a few dollars to take a cab to Newport and right across from the beach. We were all so happy we stayed here

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninamt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for a one-night getaway in Newport and we were very pleased with our choice. This is technically located in Middletown, RI, but it is literally right on city line of Newport. We knew we would only be sleeping here - so we weren't looking for anything quite fancy - but we found a place that MORE THAN met our needs. The room was a bit small (but then again we chose the smallest/cheapest room), but it was clean and well kept. The bathroom was very nice and the closet was quite spacious. We loved that we had the entire DIRECTV lineup available, not just selected channels. The fitness center was updated with good equipment. The entire DIRECTV lineup was available on each piece of equipment. The front desk staff was helpful. We only had dessert at the restaurant and we took that to our room, so we couldn't comment. The Starbucks coffee in the room was an added bonus. Overall - we would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: If you are going to be spending some time there, opt for a larger room and an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I can't say enough just how pleased we were with our stay. It was such a great experience that we booked the next weekend. The staff, especially manger Frank were so accommodating. The rooms were the cleanest I've seen, and all the amenities were spot on. Thanks for a beautiful weekend again. I would say that if you ever stay in Newport this is the place to go. ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janicedonndelinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#6 of 18 in Middletown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing