We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, at this wonderful location, our room was on the main hotel, and though small it was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom was lovely, though again on the small side. The staff were very helpful, and we were so pleased to find they had a laundry room, as we were halfway through are fly drive, and really needed to do some washing. On our first night we ate in the hotel resteraunt, and the food and wine were very good and excellent service from our waiter. However the only downside was that our room was at the front of the hotel, and though we had spectacular views of the beach, we were on the main road and it did become very noisy early in the morning with the traffic. Having said all that the location was brilliant for the beach and the cliff walk is to be highly recommended. We did a lot of driving around and found the hotel to be conveniently placed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    258
    139
    91
    97
See reviews for
290
391
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is right across from Newport beach, only 1/4 mile from the start of Cliff Walk. The staff were extremely helpful on originally extending our stay 2 nights despite major mistakes from Orbitz. The attached bar & grill, who are independentaly owned, had excellent dinners and breakfasts, but the service was very slow due to being understaffed, but they hustled as best they could and were very friendly.
The beds were the most uncomfortable we had ever tried to sleep on anywhere in our travels in the U.S. and abroad. The front desk staff were unable to get their engineer to find a solution. The beds were so soft that i had to sleep on the floor and we checked out 2 days early to find a hotel with a better bed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of a 3 week New England trip. This is the only negative hotel review I'm leaving from that entire 21 day trip. The first thing I noticed when we pulled up was that their website pics are very deceiving. I was expecting a quiet beach resort, but this wasn't the case. There is a noisy road separating the hotel from the beach with lots of other buildings around, and the beach is not very nice (we didn't even end up going there at all, and I love the beach).

The main issue, however, was the smell and the overall state of the room/bathroom. The top of the micro/fridge looked like it hadn't been dusted in months. The tub was pulling away from the wall with mold and things just looked generally run down. We knew we would be staying in the historic building, so I could overlook those things, but the smell was just not acceptable. It was a mix of mildew and pee. I hate requesting a change of rooms just b/c I never want to be difficult, but there was no way we could stay in there for two nights. They were nice about it and immediately moved us to an ocean view king....the catch... the bathroom smelled so badly we had to keep the door shut just to stand it in the room!!! At least this time the smell was relegated to the bathroom, but I literally gagged every time I had to go in there. We joked that it smelled like pee and vitamins...interesting combo, but that's what it smelled like. We did not want to change rooms twice (and I suspect every room in the historic bldg had a similar smell), so we just dealt with it.

We didn't use the rooftop deck or pool, so I can't speak to any of those facilities. We never even saw them during our stay - I think they may have been located in the new building. The location was just ok. It was a short drive into the downtown/harbor area, but sometimes parking was difficult. You can walk to one end of the Cliff Walk from the hotel though. I was just really looking forward to a stay in a nice beach hotel at the end of our trip, so it's very disappointing to end it on a bad (or should I say foul smelling) note.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WFDIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Middletown hotels

Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked a two-bedroom suite and were upgraded to an ocean view room. room was clean and comfortable. Great location. Strolled across the street to the beach. Walked to CliffWalk.
Just a great location at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Attending a beachfront wedding on the Newport-Middletown line, my daughter found this to be the best bargain in the area. As it happened, it was virtually across the street from the wedding (a nice surprise). Nicer surprises: [1] It's very close to downtown/historic Newport - - to be precise, 1.3 miles from the Tennis Hall of Fame/Newport Casino - - at a fraction of Newport prices (and from most Newport hotels you need a car anyway); [2] for the price of two single rooms we had a well-equipped suite with flat screen TVs (and a bunch of HBO channels) in each of three rooms, and in addition to the usual kitchen facilities of fridge, microwave and even a stove there were dishes, pots and pans, and even a bottle of washing-up liquid. The larger jacuzzi-equipped bathroom as as good as any I've seen since Le Bristol in Paris (at 1/10 the cost). There were lovely ocean views from many rooms. For a trip to Newport, one could happily stay in this large, well-equipped apartment for a couple of weeks and spend the substantial savings on shopping, eating lobster or drinking Dom Perignon.

Room Tip: We originally booked through Expedia (one room each for my daughter and me). When we got there, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in 2bdr corner suite in new building with our 2 teens for a 1 night getaway after a wedding in Providence. Luckily it was Labor Day so the rate dropped significantly that night. Condo was roomy, clean & nicely furnished. Had full kitchen with stainless appliances & tons of cabinets but no cooking equipment & utensils. Unit was huge but table was cocktail size with 3 chairs. Only couple coffee cups, plates etc. They offer 10% discount for week stay but we wouldn't do this if we couldn't use the kitchen. Bathroom was large & luxurious with glass shower & jacuzzi tub. We couldn't check in at arrival but they let us change @ pool area & head to beach & contacted us via cell phone when room was ready. Sat in jacuzzi on rooftop to watch sunset over the Newport Bridge which was lovely. They also had a gas firepit which would have been really nice except supposedly the maintenance man went home with the key so they couldn't turn it on?!* Sounded like a strange story to me...why not call him & have him bring them back???? Pool was on 4th floor with another jacuzzi which we didn't use but would be nice option if weather was bad. The workout room was in old building with good equipment. Parking fee bothered us as that should be on of the amenities since we were staying there & not visiting for the day.

Room Tip: 4th floor corner suite in new building has partial view of ocean & view of Easton's Pond &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little silver, nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The "Professional Photos" on the web site for this hotel are very deceiving. The hotel's two buildings sit very close to the road and other buildings including a pumping station. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite in the suite building. Our corner suite was completely updated and offered partial views of the ocean and a pretty view of the pond behind the building. Upon check-in, you receive free-drink coupons for the bar. The bar is small, offers free pizza and wings during happy hour, with ok service. Drinks cannot be taken out of the bar over to the suite building because of town law. There is an odd odor in the historic building, maybe because it is so old. Beware of the traffic on the road in front of the hotel. It is fast moving with a slight bend in the road and can be very noisy. The beach across the street is large, the Cliff walk entrance is right up the street, but it is a distance to get into town. The $15 parking fee bothered me because the hotel is out of town (actually in Middletown, not Newport), and the nightly rate was above average. If you want to be close to the beach, it is a good location, however if you want to be near town, I would consider something closer.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the suite building, choose a room away from the pumping station and roof deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolann257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#13 of 18 in Middletown
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Property: Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing