We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were guests at the property this week for our anniversary for two nights and I wanted to share with you our experience.

First of all, we have not stayed at the hotel since 2008. This was before the renovation of the historical building and the construction of the suites building. What I remembered was that the rooms were small and old. The staff was not attentive. Even though the breakfast was free, it was not particularly well done.

We have returned to Newport several times since and have always stayed at the larger hotels by the harbor. This time around, we were recommended to stay here by friends of ours who stayed here last year. They said to give it a try again despite our previous lackluster experience.

What a phenomenal turn around! Bravo!

We were greeted by the Front Desk Manager, Eric Kioko,who was courteous on the phone when giving directions and even better in person. Eric was warm and well spoken. He greeted us as if we were family and recommended a 1 bed room suite facing the pond. Frank at the front desk was also warm and efficient.

When we saw the suite we could not believe it. Everything was immaculate and properly placed. It was spotless and beautiful. Housekeeping must be commended for the job that they did. Not a water mark on the faucets, not a spot in the kitchen either.

We had dinner by the hotel restaurant suggested by a Server Supervisor, Peter. He explained everything on the menu and suggested a wonderful dinner. We were even greeted by the chef later, who we remembered from the Viking Hotel.

Anyway, it was a special and relaxing stay. We will take up Mr. Kioko's suggestion and stay with them longer next time and we shall tell all our friends who normally stay by the harbor side that this is "the" place to stay in Newport . They have done a terrific turnaround on this property and the selection of their staff is to be commended. Lastly, the photo on the hotel site is photoshopped so it looks like it is directly on the beach but it is not. Additionally, you have to go across the street to get to the gym, plus there no ice machine on our floor or make up mirror in the bathroom. No big deal.

Definitely the best kept secret in Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for Front Desk Manager, Eric Kioko. Water (pond)view suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix212401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 946 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed in the King Suite in the New Building. Website stated there was a pull out couch (incorrect) and was 650 square feet also incorrect. They wanted to additionally charge $50 for a deposit upon arrival. (they didn't tell me about this charge up front so I wasn't happy but paid it). Staff was not very friendly and rushing. Room was very nice and very clean and bathroom was very nice. There was a large party going on in the surrounding 5 rooms and above us. Needless to say we didnt get asleep till 4AM that is when the noise stopped.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keda508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Do NOT believe the photos online. This property is not, in fact, directly beach front. It is adjacent to the Atlantic Beach Club on the pond side of the road and nearly a mile from the start of Cliff Walk. That said, the room was clean, if a bit cramped (shower, namely) and the staff was pleasant. There is a huge bar that no one apparently utilizes and because they were out of Disaronno for our nightcap, they poured us what appeared to be a triple and only charged for a double. No complaints about service or cleanliness but I do take issue with the blatant photoshopping of all of the "official" photographs. Where were the cross streets and the telephone wires? Better to be honest. And that "rooftop deck?" Please. It was an 8x10 area with ONE fire pit and tiny hot tub. Let's not kid ourselves. Also, if you stay in the historic building there are no views. At all. Seriously. Even though you're somewhat close to the beachfront, you will be looking at the room directly across from you or the vent or something. Overall, the $99/night for a suite was an incredible off-season value for a room, compared to the places downtown. If you don't mind a brief 10 min drive to most attractions, this is worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PallasAthena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My Husband and I booked the King Suite for our Anniversary weekend, Fri, Sat, Sun. We had called and asked to have chocolate dipped strawberries and the cheese platter in our room upon arrival.
When we entered our room there was a very strange smell.. some sort of very strong air freshener.. we immediatly opened all windows to air out. The room was very nice and we were very happy to have the private deck attached to the hot tub and fire pit, as this is why we choose this Hotel! The strawberries were "ok" and the cheese plate was horrid! Maybe it was just us but the cheese was gross and one piece actually had mold on it..lol..! We put our suites on and hopped in the Hot tub, to find it warm....? We were so excited we dismissed it and decided to go to dinner.
Now remember we came here because of the roof top HOT tub, and Saturday after lots of walking round in Newport we discovered it was cold! called to the front desk and he came up and told us the bubble had to be on for the tub to be warm.. so he turned them on.. now my husband is a master plumber and tried to explain to the man that that was not going to do it, that the heater was out and he need to call someone to have it fixed.. the Hotel man said no.. no ... just give it a bit... So no roof top HOT tub Saturday! :( And upon waking Sunday Hoping my husband was wrong and or that they had called someone to fix it we saddly discovered they had done nothing and the HOT tub was freezing!!
So out of our 3 Day stay at we sadly only had use of the rooftop Hot tub 1 night, and considering this is the only reason we choose here it is very disapointing!!
Even when we checked out and tried to express our saddnes about it being our anniversary and coming to their hotel because of the roof top HOT tub we were dismissed with a chuckle as it was no big deal..not even a "we are sorry or anything!!"
Recommend calling to ensure the Roof Top HOT tub is in working condition before you go!
Ohh and then they tried not to give us our $100 cash deposit back when leaving, because they had typed there paper work up incorrectly. (we did get it back after arguing and the arrival of the manager) ughhhh

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The new building (suites) are very well done. Quiet, well appointed - small but nice pool + hot tub area. But be advised the pictures are a bit misleading - you are NOT right on the beach. A busy local street and a small park separate it from Eastons beach... it's a very short walk Easton's beach but be advised the water you see in some of the pictures is a pond behind the suites.

This place is right on Newport / Middletown border (which is good if you're looking for quiet, bad if you're looking for walking distance to all the shops, bars, restaurants of downtown Newport area).

It is right next to several eateries including Atlantic Beach Club (great but pricey) and Flo's Clam Shack (overpriced but popular and decent seafood fare). But it's 1.5+ miles from the downtown Newport area. Short walk to the end of the cliff walk however which is nice.

We arrived on Friday and left on Monday, after they tried to stick is handicap accessible one they did move us to a nice room and overall service was subpar with almost none of the people working the desk speaking english very well.

That being said, it was an enjoyable stay and the hotel is nice. Wife and I were there for anniversary getaway from kids and it was very relaxing. But service could have been a bit better.

Room Tip: No room service is available in the suites as they come with full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent the weekend here. We had a great room in the main building, overlooking the beach. The room was a good size, was nicely furnished, clean & had a great view. There is a nicely equipped gym in the main building. This hotel is in a centralized location, easily accessible to the local attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Great customer service! Met a few few front desk staff durring my stay who would be willing to help me get familiar with the Newport area. Overall great place to vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotticketflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#6 of 18 in Middletown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: $88 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing