We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
346
273
152
98
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
273
152
98
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingfire pithot tubacross the streetthe cliffrooftop deckoff seasonocean viewliving roomwasher dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomflo's clam shackfull kitcheneaston's beachgreat roomindoor poolfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 974 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Suite was a bit small. A pack of cigarettes was left in the closet (what else? Newports!) Ours was one of two rooms that had access to the rooftop hot tub. A bonus if you're a party person, not so much for our couples weekend. People were very loud until very late (past midnight). Shower door made the shower hard to use. It was a glass door towards the back of the shower (hard to turn water on and off without getting wet.

The worst part was that we stayed on the night that the clocks go forward and the front desk wouldn't even allow us 1 extra hour for checkout! (probably because we booked through Expedia - cheaper price). We're from Rhode Island so we have choices when doing local weekend getaways and will never book at Newport Beach Hotel & Suites again.

pros: cheapish, suite room

cons: loud, inflexible staff, odd shower setup, chilly pool

Room Tip: Rm 403 has direct access to rooftop hot tub party area
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A friend and I took an impromptu weekend trip to Newport, RI. We stayed at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites property, in the Suites Building. Our room was a king suite. There were three separate rooms - bedroom with king size bed and a nice big TV, a bathroom with a whirlpool tub and a living room/dining room area that had a kitchen area.
The bed was comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows. The bathroom was roomy and nicely decorated. Relaxing in the whirlpool tub was awesome.
I also enjoyed the hot tub on the rooftop deck. The deck overlooks Newport Pond and provided a terrific view of the sun setting.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, although they tended to only recommend restaurants in their immediate vicinity (Middletown).
This hotel is very close (walking distance) to the entrance of the Cliff Walk.
It is across the street from the Newport's Easton Beach. Since the weather was chilly, we did not spend time on the beach.
We did drive into Newport several times over the weekend. It was a short drive to Thames Street and the wharf area.
Visiting the Newport area in March was a lot of fun. The crowds were minimal, but most of the restaurants, shops, etc were open already for the season.
The only complaint we had about the hotel was that they didn't start the hot tubs on Sunday morning, so we weren't able to use those before checking out on Sunday. We did contact hotel staff and they sent someone up quickly, but, alas, it took too long for the water to heat up - and we needed to check out!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Suite Building are much bigger and have easier access to the pool & hot tubs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is one of the only hotels near the beach in Newport. It is not right in the middle of downtown near the pier and most restaurants and hotels. It is a short cab ride wherever you need to go. The nice part of the hotel is the proximity to the beach and mansion walk. I stayed in the newer suite side and had a great suite on the top floor that lead right out to where the hot tub and deck was. The view is over a lagoon, but had excellent sunsets. New amenities throughout the suite and the hot tub area was nice. The staff was very helpful as well. A solid 4 star in Newport and a great place to stay if you don't need to be in the middle of town or want to walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice and will definitely be returning. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our suite was beautiful, spacious and fully equipped with extensive amenities. There were gorgeous views from every window. In addition to an indoor pool, there is a rooftop deck with a hot tub and fire pit - the perfect spot to relax at the end of the day! Everything was impeccably clean and top quality. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend a weekend here for a pre-Valentine's Day getaway. We were so thrilled with our decision. We booked a waterview King bedroom and upon our arrival received an updgrade to a King room with a two person jacuzzi tub. The room was beautiful and VERY clean!

If I had to make one complaint it would be the fact that you could hear the traffic from the main road roaring by late at night and early in the morning. If you are a light sleeper like me, this may be an issue, so simply request a different room.

Overall, we were very thrilled with our stay and can't wait to go back, hopefully this summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamcnprincess16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews