We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Third Beach

Third Beach
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Middletown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calm waters and a wide sandy area make this a favorite spot for families with children.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here in October so I really don't know what it's like during the summer. There was only our family plus two other families that came and went during our several hour stay. Our young daughter wanted to dig for buried treasure, since she had read that Rhode Island has much undiscovered treasure from pirate ships of many years ago. She did not find any buried treasure, but we did find some of the best sea shells we've seen at any beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Third Beach is a beach (originally a Navy beach) nothing more but for many that's all they want. Great for kids, relatively calm and safe. No activities other than what you bring yourself.

Helpful?
Thank JonGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

They charged $10 to park. The water was blood red from the algae. Small beach. No bathrooms. No beach huts with food. Just a ice cream truck. I am wondering where the money is going to if they don't have any conveniences for the patrons.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A beautiful quiet beach. Great for small children - no waves and a protected swimming area. It's my wife's favorite beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aaa60978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Québec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean beach without ocean waves.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Water was very clear and fairly warm, but it would have been better if there were ocean waves... Supervised beach great for families, especially with young children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Beach also viewed

 

Been to Third Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing