We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange Floor Plan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Strange Floor Plan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Middletown. Middletown, is the town right next to Newport, and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the Wharf area where many of the restaurants and shops are in Newport. We used our GPS and the hotel was easy to find. The receptionists at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Gave the impression that they were glad we were staying there, which I feel was very nice. When I asked where the elevator was, she said it was easiest if we got back into our car and drove around the back and came in that door, because that was where the elevator was located. I travel all of the time and I have never stayed in a multi story building that didn't have a Lobby elevator. Before we checked in, we unloaded our luggage (5pcs) and groaned at the thought of having to load it up again. She said it unfortunately was a long walk to the elevator, but our room was on the 2nd floor, right above the Lobby and next to the stairs. Our one suitcase was really heavy and I hated the thought of trying to carry it up the stairs. As we were deciding what to do, a Marriott employee named Mark was walking by and graciously offered to help us with our luggage. I'm not sure what his position is, but he wasn't a bellman. I think he took pity on us, because he not only assisted us he actually carried all of our luggage up the two flights of stairs. He said we were there to relax and enjoy our stay, not struggle with our luggage. He pointed out the amenities in our room and told us that if we wanted to have a cocktail or something to eat, the Lounge was open. Mark could not have been any friendlier and was such a great representative of the Marriott brand. He should not be working in the background, with his personality he should be working at the Front Desk. He is definitely an asset to your hotel.
Because of the elevator location, I wasn't going to give a the hotel 4 star rating, but because of your employees, they're hospitality made up for this inconvenience.

Room Tip: Don't unload your luggage before you check in. Ask for a room near the elevator and then drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfied51986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    121
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
98
74
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent four nights here in early September. Pretty much the "standard" Courtyard Marriot. In-lobby bistro opens at 6:30AM. No idea when it closes. Didn't eat there as trip had us leaving the hotel earlier then that. Close to Navy Base, the reason for the trip. Very helpful hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel room was clean and well appointed, there was even a couch in our room. Staff was very friendly and helpful, I asked for a taxi be sent at a certain time and they called me back right away when none were available for the time I needed.Indoor/outdoor pool looked nice, though we did not go for a swim. My only gripe was the price I felt was pretty high for one night - however it was a last minute booking for a Saturday night. All in all, we had a nice stay, and would stay again when in Newport, though we will book in advance for hopefully a lower price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattM2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel to beat the crowd in Newport harbor district.
Clean rooms, very friendly hotel staff at the reception.
Breakfast was not included, but with a good modern coffee area at the lobby serving start bucks coffee.
We enjoyed our stay and if we will be again in Newport we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianSummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very nice experience from check in to check out. The rooms were a little small but worked for us given it was just two of us. Loved that the room had a fridge - without having to request one. Pool was a nice touch and was somewhat empty when we went. Gym had all the usual equipement but was super hot - AC didn't appear to be on. The location is not the best (somewhat commerical area) but suited our needs. Newport is 5 minutes away by car. Bristol is about 20 depending on traffic. Starbucks / bar resturant area is in the lobby and even if not staffed anyone from the hotel seems to be willing and able to make a specialty drink or something to eat at any given time. They also have a nice little market of snacks, drinks ice-cream. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable of the area and professional. Room was very clean however, smelled a little musty. Didn't bother me enough to change rooms. A little expensive but given it is August in Rhode Island was lucky it wasn't more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times as an alternative to paying a fortune in Newport and its great everytime! The staff is friendly, the hotel rooms are super clean and spacious and the indoor/outdoor pool is fun and relaxing! I will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDrapeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here July 2013 for 2 nights, as we were attending a wedding in Newport. The hotel is very close to Newport but thats probably its best feature. Extremely disappointed for the money we paid ($600 for 2 nights). In hindsight I wish we had paid the extra couple hundred dollars it wouldve cost to stay at the Hyatt in Newport. Now, we were not expecting Hyatt luxury, were well aware of where we were staying at, and have stayed in many other similar type hotels, so we went in with eyes wide open but things were definitely off at this place and not up to Marriott standards, even Courtyard Marriott standards. Check in was confusing, everyone all over the place, you didnt know where to stand or if you were even on line or not. Requested an early check in but what a joke, couldnt even get an on time check in. Then the guy would call us over and say a room was ready but then whoops, it actually wasnt. Back to sit down and wait. Finally we got the room, and it was just ok. Then I spotted an ant. Ok, im not fussy, get em at home sometimes, it happens. Then another one. fine. Then several more. More, more, more, like an army of them started making their way out from under the sofa bed. It was real late, no choice but to get into bed and try not to think about them. After i felt id killed them all, I went to open the sofa bed-no bed linens, just a disgusting looking mattress. Ok, figured they would be in the closet like all other hotels. Nope. no pillows either, even though we requsted extra pillows. So not only no extra pillows but no pillows for the pullout, period. Even though it was so late and we were exhausted, had to phone front desk and have them brought to us. As for appearance of the hotel, it was pretty nice, it did have an awesome hot tub, and it had a nice pool area but pretty small and usually crowded. Little difficult to get a lounge chair sometimes and even towels at times. Bottom line is i wish id stayed somewhere else and if ever i were to go to Newport again, Id try to stay someplace else but Newport is crazy expensive so if given no other choice I would stay here again and I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget. id like to believe the ants are not all over and maybe someone just dropped a candy or something under the couch and it went unnoticed. Stuff happens. If money isnt an issue, go someplace else. If it is, stay here, because there were some dumpy motels in the area im certain are way worse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten11694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
3.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport Middletown

Property: Courtyard Newport Middletown
Address: 9 Commerce Drive, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newport Middletown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. As one of the premier hotels in Middletown, RI, our 148 spacious guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, large work desks, ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs, and more. Unique among Middletown, RI hotels, our signature GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals, Starbucks(R), and evening cocktails. Our business center, with high-speed Internet access and complimentary printing services, stands out among nearby Newport, RI hotels. Business travelers will appreciate our convenient location and 1,449 sq. ft. of meeting space. Our hotel in Middletown is also ideal for students and parents interested in St. Georges School, Portsmouth Abbey, URI, Salve Regina, Roger Williams and Brown Universities. The Courtyard Newport Middletown, RI hotel offers the ultimate in productivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newport Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newport Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing