We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
The room was actually nice, but

the walls were PAPER THIN. I booked this hotel last minute to see a dying relative in a nearby... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
acchapp
,
Bar Mills, Maine
Concert

Small venue great bands its expensive for the type of seats they use paying around a hundred... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Worrierwomen
via mobile
Read all 491 reviews
  
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
79
105
111
94
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
105
111
94
102
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the walls were PAPER THIN. I booked this hotel last minute to see a dying relative in a nearby town. The price was right and the distance to the hospital was optimal. Check-in was fine but for finding the elevator--there aren't signs that clearly mark their location (hint: you have to walk past the pool and use your key card to get past the doors that leads you to the elevator bank)

I would've liked to have checked out the restaurant, but that meant walking through the very smoky casino floor. No thanks.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank acchapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small venue great bands its expensive for the type of seats they use paying around a hundred dollars for a folding chair

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Worrierwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Well, after a recent stay at the Twin River Hotel and Casino, I can pretty much confirm that most everything bad that's already been written about this place is true. I've been to and stayed at many other casinos in New England and Las Vegas, and TR by far has the worst ventilation I've ever experienced. It's an ashtray that smacks you in the face upon entry. Large cigarette vending machines line the casino floor, so that should tell you right away who they cater to. Table games are limited, minimums are high, and the ridiculous RI laws make you have to get an expensive drink from the bar yourself (unless you can find the rare waitress). VP is limited but penny slots are boundless. And watch what you are max betting on these VP machines, because you can lose your entire buy in on one bet if you are not paying attention, I kid you not.

Fred and Steve's Steakhouse was OK, but very loud. They also don't enforce their "business casual" dress code. I observed lots of diners in jeans and shorts, and some wearing ball caps. Not exactly oozing elegance and atmosphere here.

As for the hotel, its layout is absurd. Walk down the long hallway on the left of the North Entrance (no signs), past lots of emergency exits, and you finally get to the lobby. Then another long walk to the elevators. The rooms were nice enough, but the soundproofing is horrible. Heard doors slamming and people stomping and shouting down the halls all night.

Which brings me to the clientele that plays and stays here. Not your classiest bunch. Enough said about that.

In a word - avoid. There's a reason this place is losing money, and it's not just because the Encore opened in Boston. It's old, grungy, dated, and dark. There are much nicer places around, or better yet save your money and go to Vegas, where choices are numerous. Don't settle for this sub-par smoking lounge.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Leaving_LostWages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile


*This hotel is very smoker friendly*

If you’re a smoker this is the right place for you. If not google the next closest hotel and take a Uber (you’ll thank me)

Who in the world designed this place.
There’s no signage for the entrance to the hotel itself. The only entrance only located thru the smoking section of the casino.

When you finally do find the random lobby at the end of a even more random unmarked hall you’ll once again be wondering ...who designed this place. The staff must get a good laugh watching people attempt to find where to even check in.

You have to walk through the smoking section of the casino to reach the non smoking part.

Even the parking lot was problematic. The gate had a huge line at it and wasn’t lifting.

Once you’ve checked in and want to head to the casino and you get off the elevator on the first floor past the pool you just get hit with the nasty stale cigarette smoke smell. It’s permeated into the walls and carpets of this new hotel.

Not worth it. There’s plenty of
Other hotels in the area. Take a Uber instead.

Just a very poorly designed property. Leaves you smelling like an ashtray. If you’re into that this is the hotel for you.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Colly1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinRiverStaff, Guest Relations Manager at Twin River Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. That is certainly not the experience we want our guests to have. Please contact us directly at 401.723.3200 so that we can discuss your concerns further. We truly value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Very few video poker machines and the few that were there required at least 10 coins to max bet versus 5 at most other casinos. One bank of machines even required 100 - that's a $25 bet for a 25 cents machine.

Just not worth it, especially considering that Plainridge Park is only about 15 miles away and is cleaner with more variety.

The stadium seating gambling was a plus, but that's about the only thing.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Hokiechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinRiverStaff, Guest Relations Manager at Twin River Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Our slot machines are performed by a third-party vendor contracted through The Rhode Island Lottery, however, we will pass along your recommendation to the Slot Vendors. Thank you for your comment. We are committed to ensuring an enjoyable experience. Hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews