We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel, room was one of the best we stayed in during our trip to Australia. The hotel is not within walking distance of airlie because but isn't too far out. The rooms are clean and very modern and even had washing and drying facilities which was perfect for us on a 4 week trip down the east coast. The hotel also has a lovely pool and pond with tons of frogs around. Would highly recommend a stay here if you prefer to be a Little bit away from the hustle of airlie beach!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks Nicky C...........great you enjoyed your stay here and got your washing done as well.............frogs amazing, so much croak from such little guys, especially after rain at 4AM................enjoy the rest of your travels and hope you land back here again one day.........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    102
    24
    18
    11
See reviews for
59
184
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel,clean,plenty of room.....just a little far from the town centre unfortunately. Probably a good half hour walk....not usually a problem but it was chucking it down when we were there! Never had an opportunity to use the pool but it looked nice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomsandison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi and sorry we scored so badly.......yes we are 1.5km from main street but bus goes past every 25 minutes and even taxis aren't expensive but rain certainly puts a damper on most things but it is North Queensland and it is the wet season.............since you left no rain at all.........all in the timing i guess but sorry about weather as i know how wet holidays can be a disaster.............thanks for writing and enjoy the rest of your travels, dry hopefully............pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Extremely happy with this place. Admittedly we were upgraded to a poolside suite on arrival and feel we are getting great value. Everything is clean. Very quiet (except the frogs, but they go to bed fairly early) and the kitchen has everything including a dishwasher! We are traveling on a fairly low budget for hotels and this is one of the nicer ones we have stayed in country wide, definitely best value. The guy who checked us in was very nice as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GBTVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi and thanks for the review.............we try to provide quality accomodation at affordable prices which we appear to have done for you.
The frog choir can certainly fire up and it's amazing what the volume level can reach for such little guys, only happens sometimes and i have never worked out any pattern to them.
Great you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.......................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay. The hotel is not 5 star and nor does it advertise that. If you're after a very clean, large apartment, great pool, relaxed atmosphere and value when staying in what can be an expensive area, you've found the right place. The IGA next door is excellent for everything you need and the tavern is ok for a night if you don't want to cook. We prefer to cook ourselves most nights and it's easy to do that here, even a nice clean BBQ at the ready!
People staying here seemed happy and down to earth, people chat and kids play together easily. It attracts a good clientele. Buses are super regular so if you need a ride, you're not far away from a bus to the city.
The owners are very hard working and keep the property in top notch. I think some guests are unrealistic in expecting them to work 24/7. They are busy during the day and into the night and deserve their sleep too! If you'll be doing tours in the area, this is a good choice as you'll come home to a comfy place without the city price tag. Thanks for your hard work guys.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks Emma, Your description of Mango House describes it perfectly, not 5 star but hopefully more like a home away from home, that is what we try to provide.
Again thank you for such a nice review and maybe see you again one day..................not today though as the wet season seems to have arrived finally.
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 8 nights in December in a pool villa. I think it was the best deal in town. We spent $25 more to stay as opposed to a crappy hostel with a shared bath, and we got a 1 br pool villa with living room/kitchen/pool/in room laundry/tv w cable/I could go on.

Across the street is a super affordable grocery store. The one in Airlie beach is RIPP OFF! The one across the street has many reduced items, we went daily and bought marked down items. You can walk to town in 15 mins, and it is a side walk the whole way. Much better sleep too.

I loved it there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GettingStamped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
HI and thanks for the kind words, great that you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe see you again one day..................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a couple of nights here before our yacht charter. It's out of town, but that's not a bad thing. The local bus service stops just outside and connects you with the town centre and supermarkets. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the pool was a welcome relief in the afternoon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about us and glad you had a nice time........hope to see you again one day...................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is fairly far from Airlie Beach, so it isn't particularly convenient if you don't have a car.

Despite what is available on the internet, there are some services near by. Across the road is a small grocery store, and since the room we were in had a small kitchenette, this is what we opted for. There is also a pub across the road, which our taxi driver said provided decent food.

The room does look a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable with all of the amenities that you could need including laundry, the kitchenette and toiletries.

There is a pool in the courtyard, but we didn't actually try it.

I think it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks Jay and very pleased we got most things right for you and yes our rates are pretty competitive in a tourist destination that Airlie is..........we try to cater for all.........take care and thanks again for taking the time to write.................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mango House Resort

Property: Best Western Mango House Resort
Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mango House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing