We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Provided what it promised, value +”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Provided what it promised, value +”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay. The hotel is not 5 star and nor does it advertise that. If you're after a very clean, large apartment, great pool, relaxed atmosphere and value when staying in what can be an expensive area, you've found the right place. The IGA next door is excellent for everything you need and the tavern is ok for a night if you don't want to cook. We prefer to cook ourselves most nights and it's easy to do that here, even a nice clean BBQ at the ready!
People staying here seemed happy and down to earth, people chat and kids play together easily. It attracts a good clientele. Buses are super regular so if you need a ride, you're not far away from a bus to the city.
The owners are very hard working and keep the property in top notch. I think some guests are unrealistic in expecting them to work 24/7. They are busy during the day and into the night and deserve their sleep too! If you'll be doing tours in the area, this is a good choice as you'll come home to a comfy place without the city price tag. Thanks for your hard work guys.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks Emma, Your description of Mango House describes it perfectly, not 5 star but hopefully more like a home away from home, that is what we try to provide.
Again thank you for such a nice review and maybe see you again one day..................not today though as the wet season seems to have arrived finally.
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    99
    22
    18
    9
See reviews for
54
179
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 8 nights in December in a pool villa. I think it was the best deal in town. We spent $25 more to stay as opposed to a crappy hostel with a shared bath, and we got a 1 br pool villa with living room/kitchen/pool/in room laundry/tv w cable/I could go on.

Across the street is a super affordable grocery store. The one in Airlie beach is RIPP OFF! The one across the street has many reduced items, we went daily and bought marked down items. You can walk to town in 15 mins, and it is a side walk the whole way. Much better sleep too.

I loved it there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GettingStamped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
HI and thanks for the kind words, great that you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe see you again one day..................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a couple of nights here before our yacht charter. It's out of town, but that's not a bad thing. The local bus service stops just outside and connects you with the town centre and supermarkets. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the pool was a welcome relief in the afternoon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about us and glad you had a nice time........hope to see you again one day...................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is fairly far from Airlie Beach, so it isn't particularly convenient if you don't have a car.

Despite what is available on the internet, there are some services near by. Across the road is a small grocery store, and since the room we were in had a small kitchenette, this is what we opted for. There is also a pub across the road, which our taxi driver said provided decent food.

The room does look a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable with all of the amenities that you could need including laundry, the kitchenette and toiletries.

There is a pool in the courtyard, but we didn't actually try it.

I think it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks Jay and very pleased we got most things right for you and yes our rates are pretty competitive in a tourist destination that Airlie is..........we try to cater for all.........take care and thanks again for taking the time to write.................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This resort was the find of our holiday. Clean and well presented decided to stay another two days on our way back home. Peter in the office was very helpful. Enjoyed our breakfasts over looking the pool. Pool was large, clean and surrounded by beautiful kept gardens. Quiet, BBQ available but we went across the road to the Jubilee Tavern and had a 10% discount on some very enjoyable meals Very good value for money. Will return when travelling through the area again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a second floor one bedroom unit over looking the pool. Good size with a very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank onmove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks ONMOVE whoever you are and glad to be of help in making your time here enjoyable.......if you come again book as onmove and i will know who you are.....now back to the cricket.........................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Bit out of town but a really Nice and quiët spot. Friendly staff!!! Beautifull rooms! Good price! We Will come back if we are coming back to Australia! Nice swimming pool! There is also on the other Side of the road a supermarkten and bottleshop for groceries!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roelie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you and great that you enjoyed your stay here..........interesting with reviews I am either "good santa or bad santa" when referred to by past guests..............I have a simple philosophy..........if you are happy & smiling and looking to have an enjoyable stay I will do anything for you but if you are miserable & sour then do us both a favour and stay elsewhere.........life is too short ............thanks again for staying and writing about us and see you again one day hopefully..........................pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very basic hotel I thought Best Western hotel were a bit more up to date than this. It was reasonably clean and much cleaner and tidier than the reception which was like a junk shop including the bloke behind the desk. As this was pre booked for us as part of our month long tour of the Gold Coast we stuck it out for the two arranged nights. If I was looking for accommodation I would have done a U turn at the reception. One to be avoided, on the plus side the pool area was neat and tidy.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Well Tom we ticked all the wrong boxes for you............better luck hopefully for the rest of your travels.............Pete the scruffy receptionist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
4.0 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing