We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place in Airlie for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Mango House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No better place in Airlie for the price!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor but I felt compelled to share my experience of staying at Mango House.

My mother and I were guests during October 2013. We were kindly upgraded to a 1 bedroom poolside apartment and our view every morning going was over the beautiful gardens and pool. The block is a traditional Queenslander style set amongst lush tropical gardens, exactly what I wished to see on taking a trip to Queensland. Expect to see an abundance of wildlife, beautiful birds and a huge green tree frog who calls the gardens home. I found the place to be very quiet even though every room was booked during our stay and could hear no traffic disturbance at all. Our room was perfectly clean and every requirement for a comfortable apartment was catered to.

The owners, Pam and Peter are absolutely lovely and went above and beyond to to make our stay a memorable one. Pam not only offered to take us to Proserpine to show us the sugar mill and surrounds but drove us to our next hotel. Our stay at this next hotel (more than triple the price) did not compare with our time at Mango House and we both wished we had not moved on.

I have never stayed at a hotel with such genuinely friendly and welcoming hosts. It is obvious they take great pride in this place and I would recommend it time and time again. I challenge anyone to find better accommodation in Airlie Beach for the price you pay at Mango House.

Thank you Pam and Peter for our time spent with you. We are already making arrangements to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us and very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we both look forward to maybe seeing you here again in the future as does the frog if he can avoid becoming lunch for any tree snakes out shopping for snacks.
Pam offering to take you to the sugar mill would have been an excuse for her to head to the Proserpine shop of much fame, Colour Me Crazy..........so if you head back this way beware that place will be on her radar for a day out while I just toil along here.........sad isn't it.
Take care and thanks again
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    100
    22
    18
    10
See reviews for
54
181
24
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

What a quaint and beautiful place to stay.
Myself and a friend stayed at Mango House for 4 nights at the beginning of November 2013 and had a great, relaxing experience.
When we checked in, we were upgraded (for free) to a larger room with a pool view and access to the pool from our balcony. The couple who run the place are lovely, they are extremely helpful with local transportation questions and information, as well as being accommodating, we had to check out at 6:25am when we left and they were more than happy to be around to help.
The pool is nice and quiet, and beautifully clean, there are always free loungers, a jacuzzi, a BBQ and tables.
The room itself was extremely spacious, it had everything you needed, all kitchenware, a gorgeous hot shower, air con, ceiling fans, a TV with plenty of channels and movie options, a washing mashing and tumble drier, a hair drier, towels, a microwave, tea and coffee and a dishwasher! There was no noise pollution from other rooms at all and hardly any noise from around the hotel, especially after around 8pm when there was hardly any traffic on the road nearby.
There is an IGA, a bottle shop and a couple of other stores across the road, you can book excursions through the hotel or take a taxi ($8) or walk (25mins) to Airlie Beach Main Street to visit the travel shops. All the bars, cafes, shops and the lagoon are on the Main Street.
The place is ideal and we had a really enjoyable time, it's a great value place in a fabulous location, the Main Street in Airlie beach is full of backpackers and the hotels just off the street are all up extremely steep hills so Mango House was definitely the best choice for us, and I would recommend it to families, couples and friends staying in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013alys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and very happy you had a nice time here..................maybe see you again one day?..............................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

well this was just a lovely spot. we had a kitchenette, so we could prepare breakfast and snacks without a hassle. The grounds were lovely, with lots of greenery everywhere. Next door there is a caravan park and they feed the birds in the afternoon-of course they come over to Mango house-grounds, what a sight to behold!!! This is not in town proper, but just a short cab ride or there is a bus that departs from just a short walk away.we got along quite well without a car. The couple that run it, are really a pair of fun loving nuts and they gave us lots of helpful info on places to see and things to do. The unit was nice, and the patio outside was a lovely spot for our daily breaky. It's an older property but everything was in fine working order. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFLollyPopCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi & thanks for taking the time to write about us...........sorry we didn't score higher on some things but hopefully we will next time except for location which probably won't alter going forward..............in 2 weeks time our location will be the envy of all who stay in the area.........."schoolies" and being 1.5km from town central then is something very special............................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Mango House Resort from the 5th Oct until the 14th October 2013. The original booking came about as a mistake - my wife who normally makes all the holiday arrangements found that the Hotel that she had wanted to stay was fully booked during these dates, and our (Austravel) rep advised on the Mango House Resort as an alternative. I looked on Trip Advisor before making a reservation and was a little perturbed to see 5* good reviews alongside 1* poor reviews, as we planned a 9 night stay, the Airlie Beach area to form the focus of our 2013 trip to Australia. I was reassured in looking at the comments from the manager (Peter) to both good and poor reviews - here was obviously a man who cared for the reputation of the establishment, and prepared to take on board any shortcomings that fell to him.

In the event, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mango House Resort. The resort is well managed and room facilities are spacious and excellent. The Pool area is clean and of an appropriate size, given the number of rooms. The BBQ area was excellent, a top quality gas BBQ with ample area for all cooking tasks. Pam spends a lot of her time in keeping the gardens immaculate and take pride in the excellent ambience this provides. Both Peter and Pam work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. A small supermarket is just across the road from the Mango House Resort as well as a bottle-shop. A Tavern is just across the main road and features good food, sports bar and betting. Peter has arranged a 10% reduction for Mango House guests, just on the food, not the betting or alcohol though!

Other reviewers have commented about the distance the Resort is situated away from the Airlie Beach centre. I am of (UK) retirement age and certainly did not find the 20 minute walk into Airlie any problem, in fact it was useful exercise, although we did stay in October, not in the more extreme heat conditions of summer. To echo the thoughts Peter put in replies to other TA reviews, I am glad that this distance exists, as I also believe that Airlie Beach could be quite noisy if staying directly in the centre. A major plus for us was the first floor Pool View Room. We like nothing better than relaxing in the evenings on a balcony, enjoying a chat and drink in peaceful surroundings, enveloped in tropical, barmy air. Bus and taxi's are available for journeys into Airlie centre. We hired a car and found parking in Airlie Beach easy and, at the present time free due to what was said to the disruption during roadwork's, but little disruption was noticed. This was a kind gesture by the Airlie Beach Council - I just wish UK councils would adopt a similar position. Airlie Beach is a very welcoming area, everyone helpful, smiling and happy. It must be because this is a very beautiful part of the world and those who live there appreciate it. The Airlie Lagoon is a wonderful place - a large expanse of swimming water in different depths, exceptionally clean, onsite lifeguards, lovely views out to the Bay, and FREE.

Our intention in visiting Airlie Beach was to experience many of the opportunities the Whitsundays had to offer, a once and for all time visit as travelling from the UK involves a 23+ hour flight, and 2 transfers from Sydney to Brisbane and Proserpine. However we are now considering a return visit at a future point, as we could easily do it all again - Air Whitsundays, Tiger Moth, part of the Great Whitsunday walk around Mount Roper, Bowen (the Darwin set of the film 'Australia') etc. If we do, we would love to stay at the Mango House Resort with Peter and Pam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellwaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of the Whitsundays.............reading this now I am thinking of you back home heading today into possibly one of your worst storms ever........I see Heathrow shut getting ready for it all to unfold, take care and know your cricket team are safe and warm in Australia while our team are underwater in India...................love to have you back anytime you care to.................have to run now and make sure Pam is still mowing..............Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After 3 months farmwork and slumming it in hostels this was like heaven. The owners are refreshing as was the bright spacious air conditioned room. The hotel is about a ten minute walk uphill from the main street but it’s worth it for the view and warm welcome.

The hotel was spotless and my room had a full sized fridge, kettle, tv with DVD player, iron, hair dryer – all of the things you would expect and more. The bathroom was modest with a huge walk in shower and hot water in abundance. Linen was provided as was the option of using towels to take on day trips and to either of the hotels two warm pools.

There is a quiet bar and restaurant onsite which are very nicely presented and the free breakfast is a nice touch. Unfortunately, there isn’t much choice – toast, cereal, fruit and boiled eggs.

All staff members were gracious and polite and couldn’t do more to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
THanks but I think you have reviewed the wrong place this time, still great that you had a nice stay somewhere in Airlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place is absolutely great. It's a bit out of the resort (we walked in to the fabulous lagoon area in about 25 to 30 minutes) but the rooms are fantastic---appartments really with well set up kitchen, lounge, bedroom separate. it was spacious and spotless. we had a lovely balcony with furniture too, and the gardens are beautiful so the outlook is very pretty. Nice pool, free BBQ, lots of exotic birds around in the late afternoon. Go to campsite nextdoor at 4pm and the rainbow lorikeets come to be fed----magical!!!
Best Best Western we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms are overlooking pool- upstairs has lovely balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks Lesley and very pleased you enjoyed Mango House...........just one thing though for others reading this the 1 bedroom units face the pool but the studios don't just so future potential guests aren't confused.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and take care.......................Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I came here for a 5 night holiday in September, 2013.. I arrived a bit late (around 8PM) and there was an envelope on the door for me. Another couple was calling on the phone to try get the owner to come out. He did come out, and pointed them to the envelopes! It was an okay location.. a little bit out of the city centre, but with a car that's okay. Great pool area, spa is cold though.. but bubbles last a LONG time. Really nice gardens and BBQ area. Started running out of toilet paper and had to ask for more.. but that was provided when asked. No TV in the actual bedroom which was slightly annoying. Kitchen was great, TV room was great. Washing machine - didn't work well at all. Kept beeping and stopping. But I'm just listing all the faults here... there was no issues with this place really and had a perfectly fine time. Just one thing to note is that there is no room service and also, no room cleaning.. they only do that once every 7 days..

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Listerooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
HI and sorry we didn't score a 5.....reception isn't 24 hours as we are holiday units not a hotel but using phone supplied brings someone quickly.
I had washing machine fixed as soon as possible and if requested i always offer an alternative if one not working but sorry it caused you problems.............re weekly service you are correct but we do offer daily service at an extra charge and the only way we can offer our renowned cheaper prices is to offer guests the option of daily or weekly services and 99.9% of guests choice the weekly deal as rates are much lower..................apart from that glad you had a fairly good time here and with it getting hotter by the day now keeping the pool / spa cool rather than hot is the issue for us....thank you for taking the time to write.........Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jubilee Pocket
15.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,316 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mango House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mango House Resort

Property: Best Western Mango House Resort
Address: Corner Shute Harbour Road & Erromango Drive, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mango House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mango House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mango Hotel
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing