We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
The Olde Threshing Barn,
delightful double and twin bedded cottage ideal for families.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Olde Threshing Barn,
delightful double and twin bedded cottage ideal for families.
The fabulous new HOT TUB Hot tub at sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Olde Threshing Barn,
delightful double and twin bedded cottage ideal for families.
The fabulous new HOT TUB
Hot tub at sunset
Great out door space for children and relaxing in the sun
Decking outside the conservatory, with outside sofa's, chairs and coffee table
Your front door
Sitting room
Real flame gas fire and surround sound TV
Sitting room
Enjoy reading and relaxing in the sunny conservatory with French doors to the decking.
Conservatory
Bathroom
Bathroom with separate shower
Double bed room
Double bed room
En suite to double room
The twin room
Dining room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Babell, Holywell, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john h
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Cottage was excellent and the owner was very friendly.

The situation was very secluded. but was only 5 minutes from a main junction on the A55, very handy for getting into Snowdonia.

I can recommend the Cross Foxes at Nannerch for a pub meal

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base - everything you need and more”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for a few days. Flintshire is close to where we live as we didn't want to spend too much time travelling. Babel is close to the A55 but far enough away to feel away from it all. The Threshing Barn is so lovely. All the rooms spacious and well equipped. Plenty of places to sit and relax - inside and out. We slept very well. We enjoyed watching a hare on the front lawn the first night we were there. I went into the woods on International dawn chorus morning around 5am to record the wonderful birds.
Such a relaxing break yet there are many things to do close by if you want. Lovely beaches too. Hope we will be able to stay again sometime. Jane was so welcoming and helpful - thank you.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The woods are magical, especially at this time of the year, all the lovely bluebells are out giving a wonderful show. I'm glad you managed to see the hare, they have been in the fields on the drive for a long time, but this is the first year we have had them so close. they are a lovely sight. we hope to welcome you again to stay, many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
1 review
“superb home from home”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just spent a wonderful week in the Threshing Barn with our nine year old son. The house is warm and welcoming, beautifully furnished and much more spacious than we had expected. We had great days out at Chester Zoo and Conway, both a 30 minute drive away. Jane was very helpful and friendly, and we cannot fault the accommodation in any way....easily the best rental cottage we have ever stayed in. Our son loved feeding the peacocks in the morning. Thank you Jane for a lovely week, we didn't want to leave. We are already planning our next trip back!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and peace.
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilshear...
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find...”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were looking for somewhere to use as a base for our holiday in North Wales and this was perfect. Easy to get to just off the A55 (J31 then a 5 minute drive) it was exactly what we wanted. 30 mins from Chester zoo, Elsmere Port (restaurants, shopping, cinema) and Llandudno and other various places my family wanted to go (lots of castles).
Jane was lovely and kept in touch answering any questions we had during the booking process and leading up to the holiday. We had a nice welcome from Jane and 1 of the peacocks! It was a very quiet farm. Didn't hear any noise at all.
The barn itself was fantastic for our family of 3 and is ideal for a family of 4. It has a nice large kitchen filled with cooking utensils should you need them and a large utility room. There is a large dining room with a nice surprise for any young kids staying. A good size living room with 2 sofas and TV /freesat along with video/dvd player. There is a snug room too which leads to the main bathroom. Upstairs is 1 master bedroom with ensuite and a twin room. Note that if you have toddlers you may need a travel stair gate on the bedroom door as the stairs are quite wide but I did feel it family friendly. There is also outdoor seating on a decking area and a swing and slide for kids.
There is no Wi-Fi and very little mobile signal so it is either a good thing or bad thing depending on your point of view. Those who are tech savy can get around this if you do find some signal in a window area and have the tech to use mobile as a hotspot and a tablet to use. Just watch your useage!
We would definitely stay here again especially given what additions Jane maybe getting for the barn from next year....

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you to stay with us. It's great when our guests enjoy what this part of North Wales has to offer, we are so centrally placed for some fantastic days out but are sometines overlooked for the likes of Anglesa and Snowdonia ( both only an hour away). Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy, we'd love to welcome you back at some point, kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy W
1 review
“Excellect...!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

It in such a beautiful spot in North Wales. It's a spacious holiday home which has been very tastefully decorated. There is loads to see and do in the area. I went for the biggest zip wire in Europe which was only 30 minutes drive away, and gorgeous beaches.
I was made to feel at home with great views of the countryside and set in beautiful grounds.
Perfect, will defiantly go back.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable and relaxing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our appartment. Isn't the zip wire great, although a bit nerve racking! We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to reiew our cottage, I'm so pleased you enjoyed our stay with us. I'm sorry you found the matress in our double room hard, its a new bed so I think we'll invest in a topper for guests that like a softer bed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah P
1 review
“Lovely cottage - wonderful week's holiday!”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a lovely cottage! The converted barn has lots of space, whether there are 2 or 4 of you staying. The rooms are spacious, with lots of storage pace in every room. There is a small utility room (with washer/dryer) which came in particularly handy when we got soaked walking down Snowdon! The cottage has everything you need and is warm (though the heating is easy to put on if you need to) and the huge bath in main bathroom is amazing if you've been out walking all day! All I would say is that, being a converted barn, the upstairs does have some very low beams. Having said that, my partner who is over 6 feet tall managed OK, though did hit his head a couple of times (but no permanent damage!).

As it's down a small farm lane, there is no noise (except the odd peacock call!) and it's very secluded which is lovely. Jane, the owner, was lovely and had loads of local knowledge about the best places to go. The 2 peacocks that spent a lot of time in the cottage's garden were also a bonus as it's rare you get to see them so close!

We used a satnav to find our way, but it's surprisingly easy to find if you get off Junction 31 of the A55 - it's only about 5 mins away down some country lanes and it's very handy being so close to the A55 for day trips and there's also a petrol station, subway, greggs and McDonalds on the junction roundabout. We went food shopping to the Lidl/Tesco in Holywell, which was about 15 mins away and very easy to get to.

It was my first time back in North Wales for some time and we wanted somewhere relatively near to Chester as well, and so this was perfect. It's about 25 mins to Wrexham Park and Ride for Chester and about 40 mins from Llandudno/Conwy, but as it's so close to the A55 it's pretty easy to get most places in North Wales as most of the journeys we did were majority A55. Lllanberis was an hour away and we did a lovely walk at Llanddwyn Island in Anglesey which was about 1 hour 20 away.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and rekindled your love of this part of North Wales!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing