We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ice cream”
Review of Spinnaker's Cafe

Spinnaker's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Jamestown
Restaurant details
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just ice cream”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just ice cream. Seafood is a very poor joke. Go up the street to Chopmist Charlie's for local seafood. Seafood is like Howard Johnson's or your local food markets freezer prepared dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycnyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Connecticut
1 review
“AWEFUL!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went by the water to get fresh seafood .Fell upon this place what we got was frozen fries fries which we would of just ate but served cold,then frozen fried whole belly clams!!!!We could of just stayed home and got that at local diner!!!When you go to a place like that right on the edge of ocean you sure do not expect frozen seafood!!! And worse part is it cost us 35.00 to eat!!!! I have no problem shelling out 30.00 for lunch but it has to be good and fresh!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Freshly prepared. It's so nice to sit outside on the dock, watching the boats come & go, while enjoying a nice meal/sandwich/ice cream.
The owner & staff are friendly.

It is especially nce because we can bring our dog and she sits with us outside...it's wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarciaRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy, High Quality Ice Cream- A Jamestown Favorite!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Save room for the ice cream cones after dinner! Worth the calories. Small size is gigantic! Large size is for 3 people. Fun outing on the docks of the Jamestown Bay. Flavors range from "Moose Tracks" Rocky Road" "Peppermint Candy Cane" to plain old Chocolate and Vanilla. Something for everyone and served with a "college student on summer break" smile.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iScout4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Delightful Seaside Luncheon Spot”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We eat lunch at Spinnaker's Cafe every time we visit Jamestown and have never been disappointed. The sandwiches and fish are delicious (Today I had a scrumptious lobster roll!) and the owner goes out of his way to ensure that everyone is satisfied. Whenever possible we select outside seating in order to enjoy a relaxing, tasty meal and a charming seaside view. Judging from the length of the line, their ice cream must also be pretty great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnaker's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spinnaker's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing