We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Another great State park to visit.

Beautiful drive round with lovely opportunities to take some stunning photos, plenty parking, and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
shirleyfosterg
,
Stirling, United Kingdom
Beautiful views

I had bicycled by the park a number of times but never stopped in until today with my wife. There... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2018
jerryf183
,
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
35
22
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
22
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bring a flashlight rhode island graffiti benches kingdom moonrise ocean bunker beauty opportunities grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 68 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

This definitely more for the adventurous young adult. The fort is old and dingy but fun to explore. It sits on a sea side cliff with a great view if you're willing to scale the cliff to get to prime spots.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank AndyO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

We are three generations who enjoy exploring unusual places such as the remains of the old fort. Our tween loved exploring the old fort,armed with a flashlight she wandered through the ruins enjoying the graffiti and the all the nooks and crannies. The views of the ocean were really beautiful. We plan to
return to wander the park and picnic.
I almost forgot to mention the panoramic view from the Jamestown Bridge!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

A little piece of history tucked away in Rhode Island. If you are looking to be outside for a short walk by the water, this is the place for you.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank EMoonDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

We were new to visiting Jamestown, and since we always try to find historic places to see on vacation, this was on our list to see. A bit disappointing that there were no signs or information posted about the history of the park. Maps of the few trails and where each would take a visitor would have been a big help if available. Found out some info later on by consulting the internet. This was a government training facility until the 1970's when it was given over to Rhode Island to become a state park. There were picnic tables at which we ate the lunch we brought with us. No availability of food or drink at this park. Lots of graffiti painted on what was left of the fort's granite structures which spoiled the historic aspect for us.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank palmyralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

It is exacty as it looks in the photos: a massive structure, covered in graffiti, along with some beachside cliffs and (at times) questionable hiking paths. However, there is a lot less nature and forest than I expected; it really is mostly just the fort itself. If you are looking for a nature hike, this is not the place for it. Despite that, the graffiti is still quite cool and walking along the fort is interesting.
If you are looking for where Moonrise Kingdom was filmed, it's actually very easy to find. I wasted a lot of time walking down the entirety of the park, looking for the right beach: you don't have to do that. They actually used two different beaches for the cove, one for the overhead view and one for the main action. Both are located side by side, right next to the road. This is past the main parking structure, after the main fort structure but before you reach another small part of the fort. You should be able to find it quite easily if you stick to the road that runs alongside the park.
We stayed at the Moonrise Kingdom cove for a little while, and had quite a pleasant stay.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews