We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible all around” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamestown Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Jamestown Oyster Bar
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible all around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ordered the whole belly clams for $21; a total of 10 clams on a platter, over cooked, is a terrible deal. Be advised this is not place for a deal or value.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    11
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Jamestown's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

An excellent lunch (or dinner) venue. Several types of fresh fish available as you like it, oysters from the Connecticut shore, little necks on the half shell, and a delicious clear broth clam chowder were amount the items this gourmand/gourmet tried. The salmon fish sandwich was exceptional. The service (thank you Eileen!) was outstanding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful dock and dine option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had nine people on our boat and were looking to go to lunch in Newport but couldn't find a tie-up, so we headed over to Jamestown for our first visit. We docked and wandered down the street to the Oyster Bar. We had a delicious lunch--cod, lobster salad rolls, tuna filet, shrimp cocktail, fried clams and oysters. All were delicious. Our watress was terrific--very knowledgable and friendly. Very simple decor but pleasant ambience. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mostly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I picked this restaurant after checking the menus of several other restaurants along Narragansett Ave. I was very excited to have some good seafood for dinner, but was very disappointed. We should have known to turn and walk away after we walked in and the entire staff was surly and unfriendly. The fresh lemonade I ordered was very watered down and only cost a dollar less than my husband's beer. The clam chowder and Stuffies were good but not great, as was my husband's bouillabaisse. The clam scampi I ordered was awful. The pasta in the scampi, as well as the pasta in the bouillabaise, was horribly overcooked and mushy. We will definitely not be going back if we're ever in Jamestown again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA and Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“not bad, but not great either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The fried clams were good, the steamers not so much. A fairly ordinary place, but cheerful enough.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FGLinBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamestown Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing