We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stripped Bass was too good to eat.”
Review of Chopmist Charlie's

Chopmist Charlie's
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Jamestown
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aurora,Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stripped Bass was too good to eat.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have never had fish that tasted so good in my entire life.Our entire meal was exquisite.I would drive back to Rhode island just to eat at this establishment again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AuroraAurora_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    64
    32
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only looks like a dicey clam shack”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've eaten here for years, its a long time place to eat in Jamestown. From the outside, actually from the inside too, you would think its kind of like a beach dive bar that serves food. You'd be wrong, the food here is excellent. On a recent visit we had a range of items off the menu and some specials, the fried food was well cooked and not overly breaded. I had the broiled striper that was encrusted with something really, really good. The steamed clams cooked just right and I thought the chowder and lobster bisque were excellent. I'd skip the "stuffy's", these seemed a little too dry and not very clamtastic, but that was the only shortcoming. I'd strongly recommend for a great, well priced meal if your in the area. Pretty good service and a full bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very popular, but we don't understand why....”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been to Chopmist Charlies on a number of occasions, but the last time we went we decided it would probably be our last time. The food was just not good. It was ok, but for the price, we were expecting better. The atmosphere is very casual, and the wait staff was overwhelmed on the evening we were there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The place looks like a worn old building from the outside but is well restored on the inside.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

They offer a large and varied selection of great food at reasonable prices. I have eaten there several times and had steak, fish and pasta dishes and each time it was delicious. They also have a bar and good wine selection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As the name, signage, menu indicate, this is a seafood restaurant. That said, the seafood is excellent--order anything from the sea and it will be great. That said, their non-seafood items were very disappointing. Opted to go for a chicken with salad this visit and received what appeared to be a boxed chicken patty chopped up on top. Consistency was a little better than McDonald's.
-Friendly staff
-Prompt service
-Lower-than-expected prices
-Excellent seafood
-Crummy land-food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopmist Charlie's also viewed

 

Been to Chopmist Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing