We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay! Great Owners! Great B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Bay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Pembroke, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay! Great Owners! Great B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I were looking to spend a weekend in Newport, but became increasingly frustrated with the high rates and two-night minimums (even in the off-season!) that go along with staying there. So, we decided to stay overnight in Jamestown (the town right before Newport) and drive over to Newport for dining, shopping, mansion touring and driving along the beautiful Ocean Drive.

This plan worked out great for us, thanks to Diane & Paul and their wonderful, relaxing bed & breakfast; East Bay. The property was very well maintained, beautifully decorated and without question a great value.

Check-in was a breeze with came with a nice tour of the home. Our room, the Narragansett, was decorated absolutely beautifully and we felt right at home the mintue we put our bag down.

Breakfast was delicious and served in a cute, sunny breakfast room. It was pleasant talking with the owners and their other guests during breakfast.

Other great touches included his and her bathrobes, plush bath towels, nice toiletries, complimentary bottled water and bedside chocolates, a very comfortable bed, great water pressure in our private bathroom's shower, reading materials in the room, great noise control from room to room, room darkening window treatments, a flat screen TV w/ DVD, a Keurig machine to use at your leisure, a book and DVD collection to use, free parking, maps and area information, restaurants within walking distance, proximity to Newport and so much more!

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
82
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

I went with two friends of mine for Sat, Jan 9, 2010. We were visiting friends who live in Jamestown. This B&B was exceptionally clean with a decor that is up to date and very warm. This place is truly top notch - service was outstanding. The home is very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and not too filling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

If one were to consider starting up a B & B, they should spend some time at the East Bay in Jamestown RI, because it is as well done as a B&B can be. Immaculate, tasteful period furnishings, top notch extras like robes and toiletries, wonderful breakfast, one block from the harbor, and congenial hosts. Probably the best B&B we've stayed at, certainly with the best B&B cat ever.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

A one-night stay was not enough at this comfortable bed and breakfast nestled in lovely Jamestown, a bridge away from Newport, RI. The hosts, Greg and Donna, were friendly and accommodating from the moment of our arrival. The fresh, made-to-order breakfast was accompanied by a variety of seasonal fruits and homebaked corn, as well as, chocolate chipa muffins - Yum!. Our guestroom was immaculate and we especially loved the wonderful 600 thread count sheets! Great shower and bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler06032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We’ve been going to Newport for many years, but decided to try staying in Jamestown, which is only minutes over the bridge from Newport, and is a beautiful and quaint town. We stayed for a long weekend at the end of June, and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Lighthouse room, which was very nicely furnished and meticulous, as was the bathroom. Donna and Greg were great hosts. We had a special request, which they accommodated immediately, and they were very helpful in providing us with information about Jamestown. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! We were able to walk to the nearby restaurants and shops, and were able to go to Newport by simply driving for a few minutes over the bridge. We will be staying at East Bay B&B again in August, and are really looking forward to it. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at East Bay B&B and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband had a business trip in Providence. The kids and I came along and we stayed in 2 rooms. The rooms were wonderful: so comfortable and clean; each one unique in furnishings. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts special and different every morning - loved those butterscotch scones. The location was great because we were close to Providence, beaches and small towns in the surrounding area. The rooms were not perfectly quiet, - it's not like a large hotel with vault like rooms - however the occasional noise was not disturbing for us. I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed for four nights during the week, and I stayed in two different rooms during the course of the week. The rooms were nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable and the beds were wonderful. Bathrooms very nice. The hosts were friendly and attentive but not overly intrusive. They readily helped with a number of miscellaneous needs I had - beach towels, umbrella, utensils and plates when I brought in food, and information about getting tickets to a unique museum. The location is perfect - two blocks from the center of town, but the house is on a nice side street so you don't feel like you are in the center of town. Breakfasts varied, with eggs made to order (my personal favorite included scrambled eggs with feta cheese, onions and mushrooms) and warm blueberry muffins, coffee, juice, etc. We had strawberry crepes one morning which were very nice. I would highly recommend this for individuals or couples!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Bed & Breakfast

Property: East Bay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14 Union St, Jamestown, RI 02835-1217
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian - style inn offering 4 guest rooms, each graciously appointed with period furnishings, and all the comforts and conveniences of home. Located in the heart of Jamestown, RI, this b&b is 3 houses from the water and around the corner from restaurants and shops. Spend the day strolling through this quaint, coastal village or enjoy a trip across the harbor to Newport aboard a seasonal ferry. Or, Newport is 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Jamestown
East Bay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing