We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the negative reviews! Excellent Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews! Excellent Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I recently stayed at the Bay Voyage for memorial day weekend. My original reservation was at Newport Overlook, but when the front desk reception realized we didn't drive to the resort instead took a train to PVD then a cab she became concerned and offered to take us to the local market. A few minutes later she informed us there was room at the Bay Voyage which was near the ferry and public bus and that it had a restaurant in the building. Im upset I cannot remember her name, she then drove us down to the Bay Voyage! Our room was above average but not as "spiffy" as other Wyndham Resorts I have stayed in (no jacuzzi tub). The Sunday Brunch at Bay Voyage is awesome and the local wine and cheese store had fresh "home-cooked" meals. I took a ferry to newport and explored for 1 day. I really enjoyed myself it was a relaxing and affordable trip. I had a view of the bay and our deck was enormous. I would definitely come here again when I wanted to kickback relax, write poetry and sip wine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sedaygogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

I found this Inn to be very nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. The "partial kitchen" is just that. A microwave, refrigerator, sink, dishes, silverware, etc.... Exactly as advertised. The location is fine, close to everything. And the staff has been extremely accommodating. Although the Inn offers wi-fi for a fee, there's also a strong wi-fi signal from somewhere else, and it's free. The only "hint" I would give is this: If you have a choice, request an "odd" numbered suite. These are the suites which face the bay.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblin_Man54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

Stay away...we went to the Bay Voyage to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Temperature was between 15-33 and the heat couldn't be regulated in the room. It was either freezing or overheated. The room smelled horrible! Don't be fooled by the promised of a "partial kitchen." It's useless. The fitness center is only open from 9:00-9:00 so don't plan on an eary morning workout but then again, when we went to work out at 11:30 in the morning, the door was still locked so maybe it's never open?! The coffee pot was full of grounds and otherwise filthy dirty. There was an inch of dust around the TV in the cabinet and on the TV table in the bedroom. Bed was too soft. Front desk people unhelpful. I could keep going...but I'm sure you get the point. Not worth the price even if it's free!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Very dirty and smelly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

Why stay here when everything you'll want to do is over the $4 toll bridge to Newport? On top of being inconvenient, most rooms face the road, and without soundproof windows, it's like trying to sleep next to a highway.

They use a treadmill and stairmaster in a dark room to justify advertising a "Gym" and the beds are old and too soft for anyone who cares about their back.

This is just a very nice restaurant with rooms attached.

Lovely area to visit, but stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Location, Noise, Beds, Gym
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingalls365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostr4111
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We chose this site through an RCI exchange -it certainly doesn't compare to the gold crown resort membership we have in Mexico. The professional hospitality status of the hotel is lacking. The staff is very friendly but totally unprofessional. The staff is not professionally dressed and do not act react properly to meet the needs of its guests. They are not readily available to meet the guests inquiries. The front desk on many occasions were not present to answer guests inquiries. Small services like newspapers at the guest room doors was never followed on a daily basis. Newspapers were available on only ONE day out of seven days. The exercise room hours were scheduled from 9AM - 9PM. For those who exercise, ealier hours are always preferable e.g. 6AM would be a better opening time. The exercise room was not open at 9AM. and the guest needed to contact the front desk to open the room. The innl advertises the availability of hot tub that does not even exist. The general physical condition is lacking - rugs need cleaning particular the public areas. They are black and deeply discolored. Half the windows in our room did not operate at all. I would say that the Wyndham corporation sorely needs a quality control assessment. It has a long way to go before Bay Voyage Inn reaches a high quality Inn standard.

  • Liked — kitchenette area, suite accomodation
  • Disliked — cleanliness, inadeqaucy of the staff, lack of amenities, eg newspaper
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dostr4111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

Suite 209 was nice, not sure if it really could have slept 4. The front desk staff were not very friendly. The hallways were in desperate need of makeup air. Not sure if this would meet building code or not. The room itself did not smell. The air conditioning units worked okay but made alot of noise. The bathroom sink leaked all night. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious, no complaints about that.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here as a time share exchange. Overall the staff was absolutely wonderful - friendly, helpful and courteous (One employee, though not rude, seemed bored and disinterested, but everyone else was so incredibly super nice!) We stayed in suite 107 and our view was incredible! Newport is only a few minutes drive and we were glad to be out of the noise and crowds.

My husband and I usually stay in B&B's so the old world charm of the Bay Voyage was very appealing to us. Old hotels/B&B's usually have poor noise insulation but the sound-proofing at Bay Voyage was really good. I am a VERY light sleeper and I heard very little noise from other units. There was a loud party one evening but when we closed the windows I could barely hear it.

Our suite was small but adequate for the two of us. The mini-kitchen was very nice, as were the free coffee and muffins in the morning. The room decor was also nice but the furniture placement is awkward (the TV cabinet is offset from the sofa so that it can be opened into a hide-a-bed) so that only the person on the end of the sofa can view the TV comfortably. The comfort level of the furniture/bed was average - but we weren't in our room much so it was fine.

Bay Voyage is a time-share property. We were contacted once by a Wyndham Properties representative. She was not pushy at all, and in fact very friendly and helpful. She gave me some good suggestions for restaurants and attractions in the area.

We enjoyed the Sunday brunch at the restaurant. The food and service were both good. One word of caution. We ordered drinks with our brunch. We thought they were included as there was no price on the drink menu - only to find we were indeed charged - quite a bit in fact! They should list the drink prices - but we should have asked so I don't fault them.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Bay Voyage to anyone looking for a quaint hotel with old world charm in a fantastic location!

  • Liked — friendly staff & location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lance-and-Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Newport Overlook
Wyndham Newport Overlook
#2 of 2 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
10.8 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Property: Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Address: 150 Conanicus Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1519 (Formerly The Bay Voyage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bay Voyage Hotel Jamestown
Wyndham Jamestown
Jamestown Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing