We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Not Newport...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's Not Newport...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

and thats a good thing.... Although Newport is fun for what it is, the constant hustle and bustle can be tiring... Staying just over the bridge in Jamestown is wonderful. My wife and I have stayed there twice in the last year and both times were fabulous.
One time we had the top floor, corner room and the views were absolutely stunning. last time in, we overlooked the quaint neighborhood, not as great as the bay, boats and bridge, but not unpleasant by any stretch.
Staff was always helpful and couteous. Light breakfast foods were tasty. We did not sample any other food or bar while we stayed. Downtown Jamestown is a short 10 minute walk away, with plenty of fine food and shops. Newport is a quick 5 min drive or 15-20 minute bike ride over the bridge if the stores in Jamestown can't quell your shopping thirst.
The walls are a little thin and sound does carry but generally it's sound from the hall as opposed to from other rooms, unless of course you just have loud neighbors. We stayed just off season in mid May so there weren't tons of guests.
Totally enjoyed our stay and WILL most certainly return.

Room Tip: Of course, if you can get a room overlooking the bay, that is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney S, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you, for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. In the future our Superior, Deluxe, and Executive rooms offer a view of the ocean. Please feel free to call ahead to request one of those room types and we will do our best to fulfill your request.

Best Regards,

Courtney
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Bay Voyage Inn during a visit home for a wedding in MA. Since it was off season we were pleasantly surprised that many stores and restaurants were open. This was our first visit to Jamestown and found it charming! Bay Voyage is an old Victorian mansion that was moved from Middleton, R.I. to the current location in Jamestown in 1889. We were fortunate to have a one bedroom unit with a balcony. Beautiful view of the bay and the bridge to Newport. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable for two. The walls are thin, during the weekend we could here other guests above and beside us. During the week it was quiet so no problem. They have coffee and pastries every morning complimentary in the common room. We had guests one day and we visited and had lunch in the common room. We enjoyed deli sandwiches purchased at a deli nearby. We enjoyed the Plantation at the Bay restaurant, located in Bay Voyage so much that we went twice during our stay. We will probably return here. It is a nice place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TugTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay at the Bay Voyage Inn in Jamestown, Rhode Island. This is a Wyndham resort in Jamestown on Conanicut Island and looks out at the Naragannset bay and Newport Rhode Island across the bay. The inn began as a Victorian home in Middleton, RI (just north of Newport) and the house was moved from Middleton across the bay to its current location in 1889. In 1890, the Inn was established when a large, three story wing was added that allowed for 32 additional guest rooms (for a total of 50) and a restaurant below. Since then, there have been several changes of ownership and some remodeling but the inn has always been successful. It is now a Wyndham resort with 32 timeshare units.

The units are not all the same. We were fortunate to get room 205 which is on the east (Bay) side and which has a quite nice deck from which you get a great view of the Pell Bridge, Jamestown harbor and Newport itself across the bay. An interesting aspect our deck and that of suite 203 next door is that there are skylights in the floor that allow you to look down into the restaurant below. All of the first and second floor suites on the south and east sides have decks or balconies while none of the suites on the third floor or on the west side do. We spoke with a few of the other guests and were told that some of the suites, especially those on the south end, were quite large.

Our suite had a great view, a nice living / dining room and a small but fully equipped bathroom. One rather unusual feature that my wife liked is the wall mounted illuminated make-up mirror on the wall to the right of the lavatory. There is plenty of room on the granite counter and shelves below for personal items. The bedroom was tiny with barely enough room to walk around the bed to the window side, however, the bed was very comfortable. The only light was one table lamp on the bed stand on the left side of the bed. It had a small dresser at the foot of the bed with a tube TV (which we never even turned on) and a typical package HVAC unit under the window.

The only closet is in the living room, to the left of the kitchenette. The kitchenette is small but quite well equipped. It has a place setting of dishes (huge bowls and coffee cups) and flatware for four as well as basic kitchen implements. There is a small refrigerator, a microwave, bar sink and coffee maker. Actually, the only surprising omission is that there were no sharp knives. It would be very nice if they at least provided a paring knife. They do provide paper towels, bags for recycling, dish washing liquid and other necessary items. They also provide a package of microwave popcorn.

We were impressed with how clean everything was and that everything was in very good repair. The bathroom was very clean with no grunge in any corners, no tile defects and very smooth and well functioning fixtures. As is typical of almost all places we found in the area, the toilet is a pressure tank type that is noisy but very efficient.

Jamestown is a small but charming port village. There are perhaps a dozen or fewer places to eat and one small (and rather expensive) grocery store. The restaurant in the inn seems to be very nice and popular, but we didn't eat there as it is rather expensive. To get to Newport you need to cross the Pell Suspension bridge and pay a $4.00 toll each way. Because of this, we planned our days so that we only had one crossing each way per day. There is another bridge on the west side that connects to the mainland and fortunately, this bridge does not have a toll.

As this review is already longer than I intended, I'll cut it short by saying that we really enjoyed our stay at the Bay Voyage Inn. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. It does not have the amenities of a five star resort, but it is a very nice home base for one to explore Newport and the surrounding areas in Rhode Island, Massachusets, and western Connecticut. Our room was fine for my wife and me but despite the sofa bed in the living room, it would have been terribly crowded with even one more person.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms would be my preference and I really would not recommend these small suites for more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fingerpicker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
451 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Those who manned the front desk were very pleasant. Nice accommodations in this small town. The 1 bedroom is small but very comfy for 1 couple. The bed was very comfy and overall the place appeared clean. We did notice an odor in our living room when arriving, but discovered the smell was coming from our a/c. Since didn't need to use it much, it was not a problem. The laundry was free, which was a plus. Would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A group of friends and family stayed here, and we all liked the comfortable atmosphere, helpful staff, beautiful views, pool, easy parking, proximity to restaurants and surrounding areas, including a lighthouse, the kitchenette, free laundry downstairs next to the bathrooms and fitness room- we had a great time! I would go back, and hope the restaurant will offer great food!
Although it's true that the rooms weren't large, they were sufficient and clean.....and nicely decorated.....

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryKay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn in Jamestown, RI with two girlfriends. We were looking for a quite stay near a beach and close to Newport for couple nights. The room was the perfect size for us. It was clean, the pool was nice and there was even a little "beach" right across the street where we brought a picnic lunch! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Half the rooms look out at the harbor while the other half look out on the street. I believe the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegLyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here and “disappointing” doesn’t begin to describe our experience. In spite of making paid-in-full reservations weeks in advance and receiving several emails from Wyndham letting us know how excited they were about having us, the hotel had no reservation on file for us when we arrived. I had to provide proof of the reservation and full payment before they said they could accommodate us.
There was nothing “deluxe” about our “Deluxe Suite”. Neither interior design nor housekeeping are strong suites of this establishment. Our room was uninviting and dirty. And a daily refresh service from the housekeeping crew seems to be hit or miss.
The bedroom in our suite was far too small for the queen bed and furniture. For example, there was so little space between the foot of the bed and the chest of drawers that the drawers could not be opened more than about 8-10 inches. The same was true on the window wall where there were again only about 8-10 inches of space between the bed and the wall. Getting to and from the far side of the bed without stubbing a toe takes great care.
Another surprise was the restaurant that was mentioned on the Wyndham web site, on our reservation confirmation, and on the sign hanging over the front door of the hotel. As it turns out, there’s been no restaurant operating at this hotel since some time in 2012. At the time of our visit, it was still closed with no indication as to if or when it might re-open.
The location is great both for its proximity to Narragansett Bay, Newport and the South County beaches. And we enjoyed the hospitality of several restaurants on the island. But, in the end, none of that was enough for us. Our room was so dirty and uncomfortable for us that we checked out a day early. We just couldn’t stand it anymore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
3.0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Newport Overlook
Wyndham Newport Overlook
#2 of 2 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
10.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn

Property: Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Address: 150 Conanicus Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1519 (Formerly The Bay Voyage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bay Voyage Hotel Jamestown
Wyndham Jamestown
Jamestown Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing