We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to do and totally ghetto”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to do and totally ghetto”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend 2013 and I am writing this on Sunday because we left a day early... Literally the only thing there is for adults to do here is drink and stare at a campfire. The fishing pond has no fish, the pool is green, the game room has mostly broken games and the ones that do work are jacked up in price. The guy at the front gate screens cars like he's a border agent, and the log cabins are actually trailers. Very disappointing and we will not be staying again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaycal292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We really do appreciate the review process and are always happy to hear the good and the bad alike. We hope that all our campers remember that our front store phone number is answered 24hrs a day and we hope that anybody that has any issue, what so ever, will call and inform us during your stay. Its our mission to make every campers stay enjoyable. I am sure that there was an issue that triggered your negative review and I hope you will contact us and give us the opportunity to rectify it. As, there was only one out of order machine in the game room over labor day. There are many fish in the stocked pond, evident by our young fishers who participate in the fishing tournament over Labor Day. The Cabins are permanent fixtures but are on steel chassis with wheels which fulfills the conditions of our campground permit. The chassis is not readily visible and bushes skirt the bases. Adult activities included: poker walk, band on Saturday night, D.J. on Sunday night, bingo, swimming pool, pool tables, ping pong, basketball and all that Southern Rhode Island has to offer in the immediate area, beaches, hiking, kayaking, bird watching and the list goes on.

Again, I hope you contact us an give us the opportunity to rectify any negative issues you may have had.

Thank you -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    45
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
106
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After reviewing the website and the reviews here, thought it would be a great place to bring my family. All of these reviews were misleading, I was put next to an old rundown camper with a home A/C hanging out the window being held up by a board. The bathrooms everyone said was clean were not, the urinals were out of order all week, if sitting on the toilet the water from the pipes up above drip all over you. I know is camping but the feedback here was very misleading. I sat with my children waiting for field activities that never happened. My children were so sad, the only thing they liked was the train ride, but even that broke down, and the old man driving was speeding through the campground that my little one was scared. As for the whole Santa thing when riding on the train is not what my children believe in and caused some confusion for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sad to read that your stay was not pleasant. I checked the bathroom cleaning logs and they were cleaned and checked during the weekend but with the rain / mud can get tracked in quickly between inspections. I have also asked the staff to be on the lookout for any window air-conditioning units. They are not allowed on the property and we are sorry that you found yourself next to one. Field games are a weekend activity and always happen according to schedule, weather permitting. Many times the balloon toss is moved to the basketball court during the week but we also make announcement at the athletic field if it is going to be moved. I have a feeling we missed you with the announcement and we are very sorry that the kids were disappointed. We are going to install an information board at the field so that we do not miss anyone in the future. Santa is a big hit at the campground and is a highlight for most of the children, this is the first negative comment I have ever had regarding Santa Claus but I appreciate the feedback and will take note of it.

Please contact Cameron or myself (Justin) if you would like to discuss your stay further. I would also like to extend an invitation to return in the future in the hopes that we can make your stay everything that we think it should be.

Thank you again for sharing your review. -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I absolutely loved Whispering pines. It's perfect for a getaway weekend, but I could stay here all summer. The campground is beautiful and tucked away from any cities. There were plenty of extra activities going on when I was there, to include a DJ on saturday night at the pavilion, swimming, ping-pong, mini golf, and pancake breakfasts. I went all weekend without picking up a cell phone or iPad. In addition to the activities provided at the campground, there are tons of places to go outside the campground within immediate driving distance. My boyfriend and I visited Newport to tour the coastal town and take a winery tour and helicopter tour. We got to take a ferry over to Block Island and toured the cute little island by Moped (amazing!). We also drove a mile down the road from the campground to kayak a very secluded and serene river. Visits to Providence, Newport, Watch Hill, and other amazing areas are a short drive away. We ran out of time seeing all that we wanted to see and coming back is a priority. I am so glad I got to experience this hidden gem!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are so very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to visit again soon and explore more of New England!

Thank you again! Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Friendly employees, delicious pancake breakfast, a good variety of activities for children and adults, dj music was a delightful mixture of artists, clean pool, clean bathrooms which is always a pet peeve of mine

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again - Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved staying at Whispering pines. The cabins were nice, the price was decent. Met lots of great seasonal people who were very nice and friendly including Justin and Cameron the owners. The kids were kept busy all day with fun activities. We all hated to leave it was the best campground and vacation we had have in a while. Already looking on buying a camper and becoming seasonal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Thanks again -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nicer premises then last year when we stay (new owners).

The good:
Bathrooms are in amazing shape, they should be proud! Really impressive, even smell great!

Rec hall is nicer and many of the video games actually work, though pricey.

Menu and service was great.

Mini golf was fun.

Pool was in good shape given the weather.

Weekend activities were good with the kids.

Cons:
The wifi they sounded so proud of when my girlfriend made the reservation is worst in class, absolutely unusable. So I had to leave for 6 hours each day during the week, to use a real wifi network in town at a restaurant (was free thank goodness). We asked the seasonal campers when hanging out at the horse shoe pit and most all shook their heads and laughed saying it is useless for them too.

Weekly activity schedule that they have online apparently means nothing. When we asked the pleasant older lady at the office, she said don't go by what is online. We live 200+ miles away, how else would we have planned the trip? Most campgrounds have very active facebook pages, theirs is not. Perhaps that is where the activity schedule should be?

Train schedule for the kids need to be quadrupled.

Looked nicer and the campers were very friendly, but without being able to plan activities and get work done on a computer, we won't be able to go again this season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for choosing to stay with us again this season. I am very happy to read that you noticed the many improvements that we have made at the park and hope you will be able to return again to see the rest of the additions we have in the works!

I'm very sorry to read that you had problems with the internet. We are working the bugs out of a new system that has been installed to increase the available bandwidth available in the park and increase the stability of the system. We have had very few issues reported. However, if you do have a problem accessing the free WiFi please contact the front office day or night and we will do our best to ensure that you are able to get access.

Regarding the activities schedule be assured that activity times remain the same during the peak season. Although, specific events / activities may change from the posted schedule based on camper participation, weather, etc. We agree with your Facebook comment and will begin posting weekly activities on Facebook as they become available, so stay tuned!

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the campground. The place was clean, fairly quiet and people we met were very nice. Good group to be with. They had a DJ one night and a bad another night. Breakfast on the weekends and other activities daily. Nice pool which got lots of use. I would recommend this campground to anyone whether they are young or older.

Room Tip: Pool and snack bar and entertainment were supplied. Kids could go on a train ride provided daily. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so happy that you had a great time during your stay with us! Thank you very much for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Valley
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
19.5 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
23.2 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
795 reviews
14.4 mi away
Seaport RV Resort and Campground
14.4 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Property: Whispering Pines Campground
Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, Hopkinton, RI 02832-1247
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hopkinton > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing