We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a Trip to Lisbon”
Review of O Dinis Restaurant

O Dinis Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Like a Trip to Lisbon”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It’s been a long time since I’ve had Portuguese food, and while visiting in Providence, decided it was time to plunge back in. Based on Trip Advisor reviews, my wife and I hit O Dinis. What a delight!

The restaurant is small, tightly packed, and vibrant. Portuguese was being spoken at perhaps half the tables. Families, large groups, couples … the clientele (almost all local) was boisterous and obviously enjoying themselves.

When the food arrived, it was obvious why. Delicious, nicely seasoned, and oh so reminiscent of meals enjoyed in Lisbon. I went for the Pork and Clams, a massive one-dish meal of pork chunks, littleneck clams and potatoes, all in a heady sauce rich with paprika, garlic and wine. My wife’s skewer of beef (ordered medium-rare and cooked to perfection) interspersed with slices of spicy linguica also came with a robust, beefy sauce, which soaked into the fried potatoes and made them all the more delicious.

I'm glad we skipped the appetizers, the entree portions were flat-out huge.

Service was friendly and enthusiastic, prices were right (two entrees, a bottle of wine and two healthy glasses of Port for dessert came to $60), and I’ll be heading back on my next visit to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great ethnic restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a real informal family run place with lots of local clients. We stopped in for lunch on a Wednesday. Most of the other customers were speaking Portuguese. The waitresses were attentive and called us "sweetie" when asking questions. We both got the Wednesday cuttlefish special - four small cuttlefish plus salad and potatoes for $13. The cuttlefish was topped with a flavorful herbed olive oil and was delicious. If I ever get back to Providence I will definitely look this place up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YojoaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm and unpretentious ... supper food like grandma made”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon to a restaurant that was modestly empty ... but not for long. By 5pm, nearly every table had locals (speaking Portuguese) and I was thrown back 40 years to those delightful experiences of going over to Grandma's home for Sunday afternoon suppers. And just like at Grandma's, the food was made to be enjoyed!

Supper began with a glass of house chardonnay and a bowl full of bread slices - both dry & crust and soft & fresh w/ little pods of chilled butter too. Of the several specials, the waitress said "if you like fish, go with fish, it is excellent". She speaks the truth. Ordered a marinated kabob of halibut, swordfish, shrimp and sweet green pepper. It was bathed in a olive oil broth of chopped onions and parsley. The most fantastic tasting boiled Yukon gold potatoes were bathed in the broth as well. A fresh house salad with vinegar & oil dressing came simultaneous with the meal. If there was anything to complain about it would be that the salad would have came earlier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sapientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Home cooking @ home prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent Portuguese style cuisine at down-home pricing. The seafood and beef dishes were well done and the flavors subtle but fragrant. Atmosphere truly hole in the wall. Only drawback - service seemed to be harried and understaffed at times and the veggies were canned tasting. Best Portuguese cuisine I've had since the Algarve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CulturedBacillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Neighborhood spot makes you feel like you are in Portugal”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a small venue with a big heart. You can tell it is family-run and they make everything even down to the wet red crushed pepper. Don't let the rustic interior scare you away--stay and enjoy the best in Portuguese food. I wish they carried Bacallau Gomes da Sa all the time, but apparently it's only every two weeks. I will plan my visits accordingly as it is the BEST.
The owner's daughter, Natalia is extremely knowledgeable about the food preparations and purchasing and she readily shares her expertise with us. As an aside, there is no better lemon martini (not an icky sweet version) and their traditional vodka martini is outstanding. She is a great mixologist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birkiecontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Dinis Restaurant also viewed

 
East Providence, RI
 

Been to O Dinis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing