We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and drinks were great! Staff not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meritage - Warwick

Meritage - Warwick
Reserve with OpenTable
Meritage - Warwick is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: This casual yet elegant restaurant features eclectic new-American cuisine and a carefully chosen wine list that includes twenty wines by the glass and many more by the bottle. We can not take reservations for the bar or bar area/lounge, those seats are first come fist serve only, thanks
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
“Food and drinks were great! Staff not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped in for the first time to relax after a hard day at work. We sat at the bar. The drinks and food were excellent. All were tasteful and well made. The staff was ok. On occasion we were asked if we would like another beverage, and we accepted up until our limit. After paying the bill, the waitress looked inside the black folder and rolled her eyes at the 20% tip. Remember, it's dog eat dog economy and your customers work hard for the money. Do you want them to return? Do you want them to consider other services your establishment offers? We'll bet whoever pays the fixed overhead just answered yes. Here's a tip for her: be thankful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcastiglioni, Owner at Meritage - Warwick, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Jennifer,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to send me a message about your visit to Meritage…..I just talked to the bartender who waited on you that night.
I think there may have been some kind of misunderstanding of the bartender’s body language. The bartender said you actually tipped a generous 25% making this accusation even more surprising and that you and she talked about the incident because you called her out on it. She also said your boyfriend came back in and talked about it again with her and she felt she had convinced you and him that it was a genuine misunderstanding.
This particular bartender has work at the restaurant for years and I have never had anything but high compliments about her. Now granted, I was not there so all I can do is listen to both sides and hope such an incident/misunderstanding won’t happen again.
I do appreciate your patronage and hope to see you back in Meritage soon.

Thanks,
Al Castiglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to go for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to Meritage several times and suggest you make a reservation if you are planning on going to dinner as this is a very busy place. Waiting for a table can get a bit cramped around the bar area but the margaritas are huge and the bar is a fun place to people watch while you wait for a table. Food is always good here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Service is great and their Lobster Cardinal is to die for! They also have great Margaritas. Fun place to visit with friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Meritage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good. Menu is quite varied. Pizza app is great! People really liked the Pork dish, the 3 meat dish and the pasta. The desserts were very good also,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reliably Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

always a great assortment of apps & entrees, good service, great drinks.
it's our spot for girls night out and we're always happy to go there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meritage - Warwick also viewed

East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 
East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 

Been to Meritage - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing