We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Masseria

La Masseria
Reserve with OpenTable
La Masseria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen Street
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tremendous Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having a business colleague in town from LA, we wanted to choose a place unique to Rhode Island and not the usual trip to Capital Hill. La Masseria is definitely that place, good service, great food. They have a very nice rusticdecor setup, with the exact Italian music you would expect playing lightly in the background, and you feel part of the family. While there we noticed the Manager greating several people who were obvious regulars, who were even given their favorite table. The food is slightly different that the normal expected cuisine, but the attention to detail is evident from the thinly sliced and hand pounded chicken to the layered eggplant used in several dishes. This is a very nice place for a couple or family to visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westtom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    23
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unparalleled service and menu! A great 1st anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our first anniversary and he found this restaurant through recommendations from friends, and through reviews.
From beginning to end, it was magical.

Great decor-rustic wood beamed ceilings, stone finish walls, yet we sat at a table on the 'edge' of outside. Perfect! We lucked out with a beautiful evening.

Service was impeccable, yet friendly. Attentive and non-obtrusive. We each had our own appetizers (octopus/cuttle fish - him, and my beef carpaccio), both were fantastic! At our server's suggestion we tried the homemade egg yolk ravioli (also a recommendation from our friend), which we were able to order one apiece. Fantastic!

Moving onto entrées, he had the mako shark in lemon caper sauce (special) and I had the swordfish with fennel orange salade (also a special).

Did I mention the wine??? Haha, we shared a half bottle of a delicious Cabernet (though we moved to a glass afterwards because it can be expensive!)

Dessert was divine, he had vanilla bean gelato and I had the vaniglia ricotta pie. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THAT! Truly, it was a custard pie, creamy and smooth. I've made ricotta pie a few times, and if you expect a sort of dry and crumbly pie, this is NOT what you will receive. But it was the best thing I've had in years and years! Absolutely delicious!

Service was unbelievable, food was delicious-soup to nuts! We went at 6pm on a Saturday night and beat the crowd. Please go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Italian Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We couldn't wait to try this restaurant when it was brand new, and we were not disappointed; everything was excellent! And when I wanted to thank a designer who worked on our home we took her here and she was appropriately impressed. Both the service and the menu items are consistently excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to Main Street to take my in-laws - who are from out of town - to dinner on a Sunday night. We didn't make reservations, but were able to get a table and had an fantastic meal. Our servers were excellent, and the food was fresh and different. The best part: You MUST get the ricotta cheesecake. It's a perfect blend between light cheesecake and ricotta and a little custard-y as well. I must admit that it's one of my favorite desserts of all time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAEWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Robbed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Be careful. The food was good as was the service. The atmosphere is wonderful, however, our lunch bill was $40 which we paid with debit. Our bank account was charged over $200. Left a message on their voicemail, no reply.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smilepower10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 

Been to La Masseria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing