We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 1 - 3 Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewood Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranston B&B and Inns
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“July 1 - 3 Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I came here after being referred to by our daughter who recently graduated from Johnson and Wales University. It was a wonderful mini-vacation for us. Really gave us a chance to get away from the normal everyday stress and enjoy a relaxing few nights in an immaculate bed and breakfast. Our room was spotless, not a mess in sight anywhere within the inn. I highly recommed this to anyone just looking to break away from reality for a short time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    12
    13
    23
See reviews for
34
91
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Edgewood Manor is one of the most luxurious places we've stayed. Every nook and cranny reflected the opulent era in which it was built. The room was clean and spacious with a marble bathroom to die for. The eating areas were very attractive, one very bright and open air. The other a more formal dining room with a fireplace lighted and inviting for our breakfast. The sitting area was had several notebooks well stocked with menus and reviews of local restaurants. Parking was open and readily available onsite but there wasn't much in the area for which to walk. Driving our car was necessary for any activity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Wow! My wonderful wife Gina and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a stay in the Colonial Room. It was gorgeous. Beautiful four post bed, skylight, elegant antique touches all side by side with the most modern amenities - Bose stereo system, jacuzzi for two. Everything about the Edgewood Manor B&B was first rate. We had tea in the Library. Andy made us a delicious omelet breakfast in the Sun Room. We toured the grounds and surrounding Roger Williams Park. I know that Gina and I have just started a new annual tradition. What a lovely, romantic place! I highly recommend a stay at Edgewood Manor. You'll love it. We did. Go! Enjoy! -Diego Jones

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Extra large room with private bath, tastefully decorated in period pieces to match the era of the home. I think our upstairs room was about 1/4 of the whole floor - had a sitting area and a fireplace too. Very comfy and I felt like I was at home. Breakfast on the rear patio in the morning was splendid - fresh fruit with whipped cream, coffee, orange juice in crystal glassware. It was a nice change from a hotel environment. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway. We were one of two couples in the entire place, which we actually enjoyed. (We had the 3rd floor to ourselves, so coming and going at any hour was fine.)

Pros:
-ornate, lovely place with a stunning and comfortable breakfast room
-delicious and plentiful breakfast made to order
-we had a great time meeting the one other couple at breakfast
-the room was clean, pretty, comfortable, and the bathroom was super clean and had a HUGE jacuzzi tub for two
-the room was cleaned while we were out, which for some reason I was not expecting
-we had a key to the front door so there were no curfew limitations as at some places I've been -location was close enough to the city, just a short drive in, and there are a few pharmacies nearby for last-minute items always forgotten to be packed

Cons:
-the back of the manor was being painted during our stay, so we came back to some fumes in our room (fortunately it aired out easily)
-there was no soap in the bathroom, except the dispenser on the shower wall, which seemed odd
-the staff was a little slow in showing us around, making breakfast, etc. (but friendly)
-the room was smaller than the photo seemed to make it, but it was very comfortable
-there was complimentary coffee & tea in the lobby, but there were no to-go cups (just lids...) and no staff around to ask about it

Overall, it was very relaxing aside from a few quirks, and I would recommend this for a romantic trip for two!

Room Tip: There's no a/c and we were told that in the summer the smaller house, beside the manor, stays co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the b and b - a lovely Victorian home - but the bathroom was really tiny and the air was very close- humid and difficult to sleep. When we finally managed to pry open a window- there were sirens and loud traffic noises all night along with a bright street light shining in our eyes. The breakfast was great, but its not exactly a romantic get-away.
We had a rough day getting in - bad traffic with an accident delaying us and the night guy who let us in - kept us waiting a long time in the dark, then gave us a tour of the house (at 10 pm when we were obviously very tired) and then did not help us with our bags. Nothing major - but at the price, you'd expect a bit more personal service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I booked Edgewood Manor as a surprise for my daughter's honeymoon on March 7, 2012. My husband and I toured the estate and were very impressed with the unique array of fine antiques and architectural splendor of this beautifully preserved mansion. Each room/suite is uniquely appointed with gorgeous period furniture, and some have amazingly large 2 person jacuzzi's. We are kicking ourselves now for not having had the entire wedding ceremony and reception there. The innkeeper, Andrew was very gracious and helpful in making our arrangements and assuring us that everything would be perfect, and it was. Andrew exceeded our expectations in every way. Edgewood Manor is more stunning than any of the online photograghs can possibly convey.....TRULY THE FABERGÉ EGG OF THE PROVIDENCE AREA.
Terry and Jim M

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magellan526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranston
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dolce Villa
#11 of 12 in Providence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Manor

Property: Edgewood Manor
Address: 232 Norwood Ave., Cranston, RI 02905
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Cranston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion c1905. Edgewood Manor bed and breakfast is located three miles from Brown University, RISD and walking distance to Johnson and Wales University and Roger Williams Park. All rooms with private bathrooms, fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Complimentary full breakfast, wireless internet and parking included in rate. Beautifully appointed, incredible architecture, and lovely grounds all await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Edgewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewood Manor b&b
Edgewood Manor Hotel Cranston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing