We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria

L'Osteria
Ranked #35 of 269 Restaurants in Cranston
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
374 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were six people at this very small restaurant. Three place is very small, but nice.
The food was good, but not all people I was with would not agree. I thought all my meal was terrific, but two people in our group didn't like their meals. One said there was too much pepper, yet other said the the sauce was very bland.
Prices were a bit high, but it is expected in that area.
They did add 20% to the bill because we had six in our party.
I think it was worth it, but not my whole party would agree.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Noisy and crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were seated when there were still a couple of empty tables and just a couple of people at the small bar. By the time our meals came, the tables and bar were full, and people came in and stood by the door, which puts them right in the middle of this small restaurant. The room became so noisy, I couldn't understand what was being said at our table! The waitress was nice, but too busy to be attentive, and we had to ask twice for some things (she brought wine for 4 of us, but forgot the other 2 drinks!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy & casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stopped by on a whim and pleasantly surprised. Not busy at the early hour our party of two dined but imagine it might be a bit cramped and hectic when the smallish but welcoming dining room is full. Menu had a good variety of choices. Prices fair. My gnocchi entree was light, flavorful. My wife enjoyed her risotto special. Bruschetta app special was the exception - ordinary and overpriced. Liked it overall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Place Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great Service, Great Food, Great Dessert. I go there every week!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodMusicTheatreLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, ri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced with poor service even the bar made strange errors.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just about everything was subpar but in the interest of saving time, I will sum my review up with just the cocktail experience:
Order: 1 Margarita, 1 Stoli with club soda.
Received: 1 Gin & Rose's sweetened lime juice straight up (martini glass,no ice ),
1 questionnable vodka & tonic.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RItraveldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria also viewed

 

Been to L'Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing