We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was great but food and service is slipping a bit”
Review of Chapel Grille

Chapel Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Chapel Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 280 Restaurants in Cranston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Nestled within a hilltop village, Chapel Grille is a New England destination, the crown jewel of Rhode Island's top restaurants. Relax on our terrace overlooking the stunning panoramic views, the sunset washed Providence skyline and the beautifully lit bridges at dusk. The Chapel Grille Features hearth style cuisine and a Mediterranean Italian influenced menu focusing on locally foraged ingredients prepared with care and served with ceremony. Watch your pizza being fired in our Woodstone hearth oven while enjoying a glass of wine in our soaring cathedral bar or cozy up by the fireplace for a romantic dining experience second to none.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was great but food and service is slipping a bit”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous inside, but some of the food combinations are a little off - they would be better off sticking with simple food cooked really, really, well than getting adventurous. Try the duck pizza though. Very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vespucciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    104
    71
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Past and Present Coming Together”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Chapel Grille not only looks fabulous but the food is outstanding also! My husband and I have been here to eat several times and have not been disappointed. There are a lot of choices on the menu and many delicious desserts. Chapel Grille also has a great wine list. The old church is a great area to have a drink before sitting down to dine. I suggest you make reservations as it gets really busy on the weekends. It is a little pricey, bit for a special occasion it is well worth the money!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yardsaler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slipping away”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is probably the most beautiful and elegant restaurant in Cranston. When it first opened my wife and I would go at least once a week and eat at the bar. On a special occasion we would sit at a table. Meals were well prepared and served hot. Starting in November the table service started to slip and meals would often be just warm and not hot. Even the bar drinks were becoming too precisely measured. We last ate there in January and felt that the quality you would expect for the prices that you pay was on a down slide. It would be a shame to see this great restaurant slip away to mediocrity. It needs to re-establish the devotion to service and quality that it had when it first opened. Will definitely try again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertDRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good and veg friendly”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a great meal, lovely ambience and really appreciate that they were able to accomodate food allergies and create a vegan meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anniversary and birthday celebration”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere! Waiter was nice. Meals were overpriced. I had a filet mignon. Very small, tiny scoop of mashed potatoes and 2 asparagus spears. I was hungry when I left. The other 3 in our party did not love their food either. So, it had a great atmosphere, but we won't go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel Grille also viewed

 

Been to Chapel Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing