We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful atmosphere, good food and wine, a definite must try!”
Review of Chapel Grille

Chapel Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Chapel Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 280 Restaurants in Cranston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Nestled within a hilltop village, Chapel Grille is a New England destination, the crown jewel of Rhode Island's top restaurants. Relax on our terrace overlooking the stunning panoramic views, the sunset washed Providence skyline and the beautifully lit bridges at dusk. The Chapel Grille Features hearth style cuisine and a Mediterranean Italian influenced menu focusing on locally foraged ingredients prepared with care and served with ceremony. Watch your pizza being fired in our Woodstone hearth oven while enjoying a glass of wine in our soaring cathedral bar or cozy up by the fireplace for a romantic dining experience second to none.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, good food and wine, a definite must try!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've dined at the Chapel Grille on three occasions, with a group of clients, with family and as a couple and enjoyed all three visits. The restaurant is beautiful, an excellent example of retrofitting space for a new use, deserving of Architectural Digest. There's not a bad table in house and the bar is really great as well. The food is a mix of traditional American with Italian, Portuguese and Mediterranean influences. Our favorite "appetizer" is the Duck Confit pizza...a must try. We like the "small plates", favorites are the Filet with poached egg and the Scallops. The standard entrees are quite large and our experiences have varied from good, the Paella...to great, the strip steak. We were disappointed with the desserts on our first visit, but found the Apple "pizza" with Vanilla gelato a real treat and would order it again. The wine list is quite extensive and offers a number of good choices at reasonable prices. We've been very satisfied with the service; however, if you're in a hurry you'll be very disappointed. Service is a little less attentive than it should be but not awful and with such a great atmosphere, why not sit back, relax and enjoy a leisurely dining experience!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thelesstraveledroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    105
    72
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They sure did get it right !”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Chapel Grille is an outstanding restaurant in a state full of outstanding restaurants. The location, a former Church, provides a exceptional venue with exposed beams, rock walls and an inviting ambience, a great place to take that special someone. The unique curved bar is a gathering place for the pre-dinner drink or just stay seated and dinner is served at the bar. We were seated at a table near the huge fireplace which felt really good for a cold evening. The service was excellent, the food was great and the prices weren't that bad either ! When the weather gets better an outdoor patio is going to be available with a view of the city.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwhatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Building, Mediocre Food, Lousy Service”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Tried this new restaurant with my wife and 5 others. They did a great job with this old building and the exquisite decor but that's really the only good I have to say. My dinner was tasty but salty and a small portion. My wife said her dinner was too salty as did the other members of our party. Service was poor we had to continuously ask for water, sometimes 3-4 times bedore it would get refilled. I might go back in 6 months or so after they work out the kinks. Great potential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All Show No Go”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Chapel Grille is a beautiful restaurant that literally takes your breath away as you walk up to it from the parking lot and when you first enter and look around. Tasteful renovation and an eye-popping backlit quartz bar jump out at you as you walk in. Unfortunately aside from the visual feast just about everything else was horrible!
Advertising touts the Chapel Grille as the “Crown Jewel of the RI Dining Scene.” Crown Jewel? You have got to be kidding me! Other diners within earshot were complaining, the service was amateurish at best but the food was the biggest disappointment of all. Everything we had read about the Chapel Grille mentions the great chefs that run the kitchen, we went on New Year’s Eve and my wife was wondering aloud whether or not they had given these chefs the night off.
Our waiter arrived after we had been seated for about ten minutes and asked if we had decided on what we wanted to order. We asked him if they were offering any specials. We ordered and the first disappointment was the Calamari appetizer with fried pepperoncini which was overcooked, dry and virtually tasteless. The bottle of wine we ordered arrived at about the same time we were finishing our appetizer followed immediately by our entrees. We certainly might have forgiven all the glitches in a relatively new restaurant if the food was good but that was not the case. My shrimp scampi was OK nothing memorable but OK nonetheless. My wife had no such luck with her dish however. She ordered a pasta with bolognaise sauce what she received was pasty pasta with a dry coating of sauce and a sprinkling of ground meat on top. She insisted on my tasting it and it reminded us both of the taste of a can of Chef Boyardi pasta, hardly what you would expect to get in the Crown Jewel of the RI dining scene. Our waiter was consistent if nothing else, we waited over our finished meal plates for about ten minutes before he returned to ask, “Will there be anything else” we asked him what deserts they were offering and as he walked away presumably to get us a desert menu I asked over my shoulder if we could have two cups of cappuccino.
At this point the comedy of errors was changing our mood from aggravation to amusement. Could it get any worse we wondered? Once again the Chapel Grille was consistent. A desert tray arrived and we received a description of each offering. The presentations on the tray were so small that they reminded me of my 7 year old granddaughter’s tea set but clearly these must be examples of the deserts we thought. When we chose the Tiramisu we were speechless when she took the mini portion off the tray and placed it on our table then walked away. Not only was it tiny but it was on the very tray that was be being presented to all the other tables. Maybe it’s just us but that seemed gross!
Another annoying occurrence that was repeated over and over again all evening was that each time a waiter passed behind my chair they bumped into it. Obviously they had crammed in extra tables on this holiday evening but after I moved our table and moved my chair I was still bumped with each passing waiter and never was there an excuse me or I’m sorry just the bump. The coup de gras occurred as we were leaving and people sitting at another table asked us how our meal was and if we were planning to stop at McDonalds on the way home.
Perhaps at some point the Chapel Grille will get their act together because if they don’t this beautifully renovated old church that sat empty for so long will be empty again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank perl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great bar scene and bar side seating, the actual restaurant feels almost like a wedding factory.. I would recommend sitting on the bar side of the restaurant. The food was very good! We had the sphagettini and shrimp, linguini and clams, baked 5 cheese pasta and the chicken paillard. We were all happy with our plates. The portions were smaller compared to the other RI eateries but the quality of the food is top notch.
The attire was anywhere from upscale to very casual ( jeans and sweatshirt). Do yourself and them a favor and don't wear jeans and a sweatshirt.
The bill for 4 of us with drinks and 2 apps was around 275 with tip and it was well worth it.
The waiters were very nice and provided excellent service. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyp1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel Grille also viewed

 
East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 

Been to Chapel Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing