We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service always good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Luna - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Luna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Quiet bistro type with excellent food & service. Nice people with caring manner. Wi-Fi. Other reviews:http://www.restaurant.com/rdc/cafe-luna-cranston-fusioneclectic-restaurant-rid=374941?&prti=4252&raid=5180&s_kwcid=tc%7c16271%7ccafe%20luna%20cranston%7c%7cs%7cb%7c6985891134&mkwid=sirmk0bf4&pcrid=6985891134
Smithfield RI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food and service always good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are frequent customers of this local restaurant. The regular menu covers all the basics(pasta, fish, meat, vegetarian) in addition to their delicious night specials. The wait staff is promp and helpful. The prices for the entrees are in line with other restaurants in the area. However, I feel their desert prices are very high. The portion sizes for the entrees are just right.
The food is consistly good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W. Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NIce Local Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Started as a carry-out, but is so good it is now also sit-down. Limited menu but decent quality yet informal. Certainly nicer than places like TGIF or Applebees, and with a good local atmosphere. Convenient if you're shopping or just dropping by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Located in Garden City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great place to stop while shopping. Open for lunch and dinner. Outside seating in the summer. Often have wine special nights.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ma413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our 2nd trip was even better than our 1st”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I visited this small place not that long ago, and I could've sworn I'd written a review here, but I can't find it. I remember thinking it was pretty decent, although my wife didn't like it as much as I did. This second trip, however, left no doubts for either of us.

We started with a butternut squash risotto which was delicious. Athough maybe a bit overpriced at $10.50, the quality made it hard to complain, as it was perfectly executed and very tasty.

For my meal, I got the appetizer mussels ($11) in a curry sauce. I asked the waiter how many mussels I'd get; he said, "Around a dozen." He was mistaken. It was more like TWO dozen, if not more! The sauce was so good I used the serving spoon to eat it all.

My wife got the Pasta Cardinal ($18), which was penne with chicken in a vodka sauce. It was delicious, and the portion was huge.

The ambience of this tiny place is very nice, especially at this Christmas time of year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JD10367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great new dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Came here with a groupon without very high expectations. Was I wrong. Starting with the waitress who was warm, friendly,skilled, and knowledgeable words that one has a hard time using for most restaurant wait staff these days. The antipasto was a complete surprise. Not the usual italian cheese, peperoni, hot peppers, canned artichokes etc. that one finds virtually everywhere. This presentation included: brocolli rabe, whole marinated mushrooms, chick pea salad, bruschetta, prosciutto, olives, and frittata all made fresh in the kitchen by an obviously skilled and motivated staff. The entrees of chicken Francese and roasted half chicken were both excellent. I would recommend accepting the waitress's offer of serving the garlic sauce for the roast chicken on the side. Again the attention to detail not often found in restaurants these days:
the roasted potatoes were cross-stacked like logs and the roast chicken was partially de-boned.
The old-fashioned strawberry shortcake was delicious, a very large tender biscuit served lightly warmed with fresh berries and real hand whipped heavy cream large enough for two.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Staschiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing