We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Safety and Security - Not Recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Safety and Security – Not Recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

At 8:00 am on the morning of our departure an unknown male tried forcing his way into our room. He had a key that opened our door but luckily we had the above security latch engaged. His fingers and hand were through the door attempting to flip the security latch around as he continued to insist this was his room. The front desk person was nonchalant about this episode and said I’m sorry this happened and I’ll let the manager know. The manager cared so little that he/she (don’t know never saw the person) didn’t say a word to us. The breakfast room lady was a true pleasure but not even her outstanding customer service can overcome the safety and security issue at this hotel.

Room Tip: Inquire about the safety and security of the building
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Security is a critical concern of mine and I can ensure you we are anything but nonchalant about providing a safe environment. We are located in a safe, well lit area. Our side entry doors require key access and our main entry is secured overnight. We have staff on at all hours that regularly inspect the property and what they don’t see our 16 security cameras do and record. Our guest rooms are secured by door lock, deadbolt and security latch. The electronic door locks entry history can be reviewed as well.

Upon review of this situation we could have managed things better. Our staff member mistakenly thought the room was vacant and we should have done more to ensure your concerns were immediately addressed. I apologize for this. Please know we will always do everything to ensure our guest safety needs are met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    55
    32
    8
    12
See reviews for
122
62
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The staff at the newly-renovated La Quinta Inn Coventry are customer-focused, friendly and extremely polite! The room was pristinely clean and EXTREMELY comfortable. The owner was on site. I complimented him on the well-kept property and attentive staff. We will ABSOLUTELY stay here again when traveling to Rhode Island. The location is very convenient as well.

Room Tip: Nice indoor pool. Room staff, front desk and breakfast staff were just wonderful. There was a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanksgiving is a time for giving thanks and I can't say thank you enough for the very kind words you expressed. We are all glad we made your holiday stay a great one. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I just stayed several days at the new La Quinta in Coventry while attending training with my company. I have stayed at most of the other hotels in the area and I have to say that this was the most enjoyable visit so far, at a great price. I had a king room on the first floor with a 10' ceiling and a separate seating area (not a suite) and a bed that was as comfortable as the luxury hotels in Providence. The room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very good with both hot and cold choices. (I didn't see any powdered eggs). I stay in Coventry because the location allows me a quick drive to Providence or over to Quonset Business Park - and from now on, this will be my choice in hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandSueNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lobby was very inviting. Staff was helpful with any concerns (left items after checkout) Room lighting could use updating was a bit dark even with room entrance light and two wall lamps. Indoor pool was comfortable and area was warm. Good variety of food for breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Providence Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Providence Airport/Warwick
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
Address: 4 Universal Blvd, Coventry, RI 02816-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn and Suites Coventry/Providence is centrally located between bustling downtown Providence, Newport's own mansions and cliff walk, and the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island. Other nearby attractions include Roger Williams Park & Zoo, Federal Hill, Block Island, and all of New England's major casinos. Wake up on the Brightside with our complimentary Brightside Breakfast served every morning; relax in our heated indoor pool; or energize yourself in our fitness center. Business travelers and students may take advantage of our 24-HR business center and 24-HR coffee and tea are provided in our lobby for all guests to enjoy. When its time to wind down, catch a good night's rest on you comfy pillow-top mattress. Each guest room comes equipped with a 32" flat-screen TV including cable and free HBO, a mini-fridge, and a microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Coventry
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Coventry Hotel Coventry
Fairfield Inn Coventry
Coventry Fairfield Inn
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing