We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must eat here!”

The Old Theater Diner
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must eat here!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A Huge menu, it was so wonderful the first night we were in RI that we went back the second night. Clearly it is where the locals eat. We were a party of 8 and everything was hot and delicious, we all had to try a bite of each other's!!! Located in a run down strip mall, we were skeptical at first, but we are sure glad we took a chance!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olivialeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    6
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible horrible horrible service. Don't waste your time”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We waited in line for ten minutes before the hostess even took our name. That should have been the first tip that we should have turned and left. However, once we got seated it continued down hill. Our waitress didn't show up for at least five minutes and then finally showed up to tell us she would be back in a few to get our drink order. When she came back we placed out drink order and food order. Drinks came out 5 minutes later. There were plenty of waitresses on duty, so it's not like they were all swamped with tables. After 15 minutes, other new tables started getting seated and then their food came out within 10 minutes. Out food still had not arrived not had out waitress stopped by to give us an update. She finally came by to tell us it should only be another few minutes. Five minutes later the manager came over to tell us they were just starting our order now, after everyone around had already been served! We left and will NEVER go back to this place! Stay away is the best advice I can give you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Value, Decent Eats”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was last Saturday morning around eleven when we decided to stop here for breakfast. We'd been in about a year ago and found it rather pleasant. The parking lot was packed (50+cars) and I prayed it was for the nearby shops in the shopping center. Wrong.
The nice part was watching them turn the tables and that kept the line at a minimum so we only had about a five minute wait. They had increased their seating capacity significantly since our last visit, but it appeared they were keeping up in the kitchen.
Pleasant and clean with good-sized portions at reasonable prices and a prompt and polite staff...can't beat that for a Saturday breakfast. We certainly will be back to check out their lunch and dinner meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skipmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
1,841 reviews
1,358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“I eat there at least four nights a week”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hey Lou,(he is the owner) What a gem of a place. Low prices,huge menu,Super specials,Portions that you will be hard pressed to finish,an open kitchen,Quality of food is off the charts, Busy place but the wait at most is a few minutes if that.Full bars (2) Game room on the other side of the building and room for parties,etc..Now this is a person who knows how to treat guests. He is usually hiding around somewhere but not cooking,I think he heats up the fresh rolls served hot to every table. Once you go to this place it becomes like home. Was once a movie theater for Jerry Lewis. I could go on and on about this place. Service is good and the staff remembers everyone once they come in. Check also on outstanding breakfast and dinners are where they shine.
90 % of the people leave with doggy bags due to the size of the portions. And the food as stated is top notch.Wait till you try this place and they are open 365 days a year.
Major holidays I think breakfast only but they are there. Great desserts as well. Home made everything from scratch. Soup is outstanding. Regular menu is huge plus the specials in most cases take two special sheets of paper. Oh,Yes,go there,but leave a table for my wife and I. Please.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited this establishment three times and the service was very poor. It took the Service twenty minutes to give usour menu and then she didn't come back. After another 20 minutes, the Manager was going by and I hailed him and told him our problem. He was right on it.
When the meal finally arrived it wasn't worth the wait. The soup was cold, the carrots that came with my meal were raw and the meat tough. Same situation on our second trip. Went for breakfast and the pancakes were burnt. Never again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Theater Diner also viewed

 
Coventry, South County
 

Been to The Old Theater Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing