We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical atmosphere and outstanding meals at a great price”
Review of The Tavern On Main

The Tavern On Main
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Chepachet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chepachet, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical atmosphere and outstanding meals at a great price”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I experience a great date night, when we visit the Tavern for dinner. We normally go on a Thursday night, because they have a fantastic couples deal. The menu selections will satisfy the needs of just about anyone's tastes. The fish is always fresh and the meats are always tender. The staff is attentive and ready to spend a few moments with you talking about the mystery of the place, if you ask. The building is quite old and goes back to colonial days. The floors are uneven. The ceilings are low. The lighting is subdued and the overall feeling makes one feel like their living in colonial New England. We highly recommend that you take the opportunity to experience the pleasure of eating here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Kathy_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chepachet, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great menu renovation”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I went to this restaurant a few years ago and wasn't impressed so I was leary about going back. Two weeks ago about a group of 6 of us went and what a change (in menu). The restaurant still needs a lot of cosmetic work, but the "charm" is there. It can get noisy. I would definitely make reservations if you want to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDWmomri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went to lunch here with my in-laws for a birthday celebration. We had 2 seniors, 4 adults and 3 young children with us. The service was pretty average, really nothing noteworthy. The restaurant was a bit dark for my taste. I prefer something more well-lit for an afternoon meal but it may have been better in the seats near the windows. We were seated at one of the more ornate tables with drawers in it containing notes from previous patrons, primarily written on their used/dirty placemats. This really grossed me out when I noticed that the drawers also had bits of food floating around in them from the dirty placemat notes. This wouldn't have been nearly as bothersome but when you've got a 6 year old trying to read a profanity filled placemat covered in food stains from 4 or 5 years prior... it becomes not only disgusting but exhausting to try to keep them out of the drawers. If not for this one aspect of our visit I may have given an extra star as the food was pretty good and the prices were reasonable but having to wrestle paper away from a six year old for half your meal is not relaxing, especially when you'd rather he not even be touching those dirty old placemats never mind reading the contents of some of them!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“YUM,YUM”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

GREAT place to eat. Not much space and doesn't look like much from outside but inside is quaint and cozy. Bread, cheese, soup is terrific and serve yourself. Atmosphere is old colonial. Food is excellent. If it gets to noisy in the dining room eat in the bar. It's a separate room and seems to be faster service. Seafood seems really good and prepared well. Can't talk about desserts, always to full to have one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a very old inn, 1700's, place is haunted, which adds to the ambience. Have been there several times and food is consistenly good, excellent service, although they do get very busy on Sat. night as most restaurants do. Portions are more than enough. Have a great soup/bread bar that is complimentary with all meals. Best to go during the week or early on weekends and make reservations. Open for lunch on weekends and there are several antique shops in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cairns700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern On Main also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing