We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dining Experience- Nordic lodge”
Review of The Nordic

The Nordic
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $90 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Unlimited high end buffet featuring lobster, prime rib, filet mignon, scallops, shrimp, oysters, clams, fresh fruits, seafood and many other salads, gourmet dessert bar including chocolate covered strawberries and cherries, carrot cake, cheesecake, strawberry shortcake, apple blossoms and even Haagan Dazs ice cream bar.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Great for family and groups. Was here in a bus tour- very organized staff, friendly and knowledgable. Variety of different seafoods and meats including appetizers and deserts. They won't disappoint.
Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Selena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at The Nordic, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thanks so much Selena. We welcome bus groups and individuals to enjoy our offerings and hope to see you again soon. We'd love the opportunity to turn that 4 star rating into a 5. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2014

If you ever have the opportunity to go take full advantage. The whole experience was awesome. The meal is not cheap by any means but you get what you pay for. Any kind of shrimp, lobster, prime rib, oysters, and the list goes on and on. The dessert menu is also continuous. All of the staff was very friendly. Take some friends and enjoy yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S Kendle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at The Nordic, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review. You really do get what you pay for at the Nordic. You deserve the best and that's what you'll get. Top quality food, service and surroundings. Hope you'll come and see us the next time your travels take you to the northeast. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Whether you go once in your life or once a year, you must try this place! The staff, the food, the high end quality! The cost is not cheap, but the quality and the experience is worth it!!! Not a place you can afford every month, but well worth the trip. Location is a bit out of the way, but very quaint and scenic. Plan a special occasion or treat a special someone. The seafood is wonderful, the beef is perfect, and no matter how full you are, save room for dessert! The carrot cake. the hand dipped cherries and strawberries. Sorry too full to continue! I have been there a couple times, and never feel like I'm being rushed out( 2hr time limit). Usually full, with 20 mins left! Nice to relax with a coffee or an after dinner drink before being wheeled out to my car! haha!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at The Nordic, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Kathy,

Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are honored you traveled from NH to see us and hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014

I can't believe we've never tried this place, since it's only a few minutes away. People drive and even fly for hours just to come here. The reason they make the journey is simple: top quality food, as much as you can eat in two hours. At $91 per adult, it's not cheap, but the New England lobsters, Alaskan crabs, shrimp, scallops and oysters are the freshest, and perfectly prepared.
The seafood is definitely the star here, and many people don't even venture beyond the lobster, but my husband tried the steak, which is cooked to order, and said it was one of the best he'd had.
The desserts are fabulous, too, and if you stick to trying several little bites, you can enjoy much of what the dessert station has to offer.
If I had one tip, I would suggest steering clear of anything starchy like potatoes or bread so you have room for more seafood.
This restaurant hosts a lot of motor coach customers and they're used to crowds, so service is efficient and friendly regardless of how busy the place gets.
The grounds, on the shore of a lovely pond, are pretty too, and make for a nice walk after all that eating.
This is not a romantic or glamorous place, and the noise level is high, but the vibe is fun and oh that food.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank genevaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at The Nordic, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2014

What's to say Geneva ? You addressed a lot of different topics in your review that I know concern some folks- like the crowds and the value etc. Thank you for that. I also appreciate the mention that we are right in your back yard and this was your first time coming to see us. Funny how that is. You are right about folks traveling from all over the country to see us. We are humbled and very grateful for the efforts some folks go to to enjoy our buffet. Lastly- yes- we do have a sometimes loud, and almost always festive atmosphere but the Nordic does have the ability to provide a very romantic atmosphere as well. Enjoying lakeside hammock time or requesting a lake view table on a Friday night- which is a much quieter choice can afford opportunities for romance. We've had many a proposal and many weddings take place here for that reason. It's mostly about timing. Hope to see you again soon and please keep sharing with your local friends in particular. We'd love to have them give us a try as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

I don't know how to describe this place. I will say I hurt when I left as did the rest of our party. Family owned and operated, and they ARE there. Food, loads of it, service, excellent, choices, you are in for an adventure. ALL you can EAT for Prime Ribs to Lobsters (whole lobster), fresh clams on the half shell and oyster's, scallops and shrimp, the French fries are even great, to ice cream and homemade fresh fruit and pies and cakes. If you leave hungry or not having found what you like I'll be amazed. This is truly an experience and not to be past by... .

3  Thank MrsTnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Manager at The Nordic, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2014

Well we sure don't want our guests is pain LOL. Yes- our family is on site- in numbers, every day. We have roughly 12 of us in the mix on any given weekend. There definitely is a wide variety of foods to choose from as noted- and it's all of only the best quality. Hope we get another opportunity to provide you with another great experience soon. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nordic also viewed

Charlestown, South County
South Kingstown, South County
 
South Kingstown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to The Nordic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing