We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a travesty”

The Cove Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Westerly, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a travesty”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience. Bartender was very rude to the point where I will never return and tell others to do the same. Not worth stopping for even a drink. The food is much better towards the beach and you can expect better service at the neighboring Dunkin donuts. What a shame because of the great location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason88Westerly_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    17
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poorly mistreated by bartender, and owner!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Owner and bartender (son) VERY unprofessional. As locals we were poorly mistreated, and will NEVER return. After speaking to MANY people who have visited The Cove they ALL have had similar experiences with the bartender, and owner, and also vowed never to return. The bartender is a loose cannon that has trouble controlling his temper. While we were there with our children we watched an intoxicated man stumble across the deck, and had to grab the tent pole to keep him from falling down. He continued stumbling to the parking lot. Bar tender clearly served him way touch. Would not recommend this place to anyone! The worst experience we've ever had in any restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
“"Love this bar" - Something for everyone.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dinning - Friendly, CLEAN!, pleasant, comfortable, casual.

Bar - Loud at times, good sports TV, EXCELLENT bartenders, draws a friendly local group that tries to make everyone feel like family, Clean & you never need to worry about fighting your way out.

Back Deck - AWESOME! in the summer.. food, drinks, and entertainment. Party atmosphere. Thursdays hold a open Mike w/ Mike night where local musicians come and play. Some are really talented too. Friday is Karaoke with some surprisingly good singers that show up from everywhere from Calif to Maine. Saturday seems to have a "live entertainment" night that's surprised me with what I've seen around.. all good. Always fun & entertaining.

Food - basic good solid eats. Not real fancy like Gordon Ramsey stuff. But good solid almost home cooked style. Prices (while not cheap) are competitive with the area and you don't worry about if it'll make you sick. If nothing else,, you've GOT to try their deserts which are all (I think) Home-made and yummy as all get-out.

Staff - all excellent! Every single one! They all seem to take pride in the place and do the best they can to make your visit enjoyable.

Gotta mention though... Family oriented? Well, Yes & No.
This is something I've seen,, and heard "details" about from others. Not personal experience.
If you come in with children, and they're fairly well behaved, the staff (including the owner) will go to great lengths to make the children enjoy being there and welcomed as anyone else.
HOWEVER,, if you show up with some wild brats that become out of control and start raising cane, running around freely like some wild animal.... bothering other guest and such,,, you're gonna hear about it. Not a child safe playground for the unruly. There are liabilities involved along with other guest that really don't appreciate 7 year old flying circuses. It's NOT Burger King and kids are not king (I personally REALLY like that... a lot!).
Well behaved, mannered kids are a treasure. Wild animals are not.

Some of the food I wouldn't order (I don't like chicken),, But what I like I have no problem with the way they do it at the Cove.
I recommend it often and no reason to if it wasn't true. To many,, it's the #1 Spot in Charlestown... by far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I am so sorry I came in.. I wont come back.. promise...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

one would think that mediocre food could be hidden by superior hospitality.. I am sorry to say that is not the case here. It is important to help out local businesses in the winter months, in such a small community. However, I was treated so poorly by the owner and a young male worker, I was humiliated. If you care about your business, please provide fresh quality food and treat your customers with enough dignity, they would want to come back.. Next time, at least wait until a customer leaves your establishment to speak so ill of them. The food is too overpriced to endeavor such a bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank eastcharlbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, casual restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love The Cove! Their menu has great choices no matter what you are in the mood for. The mussels are incredible, some of the best we've had, and their tuna rivals any sushi restaurant. The staff is very friendly too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to The Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing