We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Whole bellys clams in Rhode Island”
Review of Gentleman Farmer - CLOSED

Gentleman Farmer
Restaurant details
narr.ri.02882
1 review
“Best Whole bellys clams in Rhode Island”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The farmer was a delight, the service was excellent, funny and interesting. We ate outside on the patio with the beautiful roses and newly landscaped backyard. I had the Whole bellies and my husband had the Ham platter homemade mashed potatoes and summer squash mix. We will be back it was out third summer visit, bye till next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charlestown's secret restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This little diner is a bit out of the way, but has great food and an unassuming atmosphere. The locals meet regularly and the wait staff is friendly and provide very good service. I've had their fried clams and sweet potato French fries, my brother had a fisherman's platter--both generous portions and excellent. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I'd return often if I lived closer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln RI 02865
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Go quite often since we have a home in Charlestown. Small building ,good food ,good service . Family restaurant, nice variety of choices, Breakfast is the main feature, lunch and dinner 1 night I think. Very reasonable and children are fine.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamerica34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Meals, Specials and Especially Soups!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have been coming to the Gentleman Farmer for years for lunch, and have never had anything we didn't like. The soups are delicious, Chicken Escarole is my favorite. The portions here are generous and the grilled or fried items never greasy. Whenever available, I upgrade my fries to the sweet potato fries. Added to any of their club sandwiches and starting with a cup of soup, I always take half of a sandwich home. I'd highly recommend The Gentleman Farmer as a great place to stop for lunch if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvamoose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copake
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had two meals at Gentleman Farmer--breakfast & dinner. Both were inexpensive & good to eat. We'd be glad to go there again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentleman Farmer also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing