We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great walking beach”

Charlestown Town Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lisbon, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great walking beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

this is a town beach, we went on a weekday ,so no prob parking $15
is less than State beaches and they just finished new restroom and changing station. you can walk what seems like forever, love it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mdl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow great beach?”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were use to beaches in RI being over crowded and small waves. The beach look like a south west FL beach. The wave are too ruff for small children. You will see the waves talk out adults. If you buggy board or body surf its a must.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank swany9404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute Little Beach”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

PROS: Very quiet if you show up before Noon. Clean. Nice view. Smoke-free. Huge waves.

CONS: $20 parking on the weekends. The beach is quite narrow, so once more people show up you end up laying butt to butt with some family with 5 kids. I know they have bathrooms somewhere, but I didn't see them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ToyHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great swimming, nice waves, clean beach”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found Charlestown Town Beach entirely by accident after finding no parking at the more well known beaches. This beach seemed to be used by mostly locals but we were treated just fine as guests. A very clean beach with a great view of Block Island on a clear day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean. Good place for swimming or strolling”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The area is clean with few rocks or broken shells. Nice stretch of soft sand. Great area for a walk in either direction. Lifeguards seem attentive and buoys mark off a swimming area to (mostly) keep out boat traffic. Lifeguards leave at 5pm. Dogs are not allowed but people bring them after hours. Too bad because even when you clean up the mess (and some people don't. ewww!) the bacteria can stay. But I guess that's probably true at any beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermuda John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlestown Town Beach also viewed

Charlestown, South County
 

Been to Charlestown Town Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing