We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surfside Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy on and off from Route 1. Brought our dog so I loved that I didn't have to worry about her getting hit while she did her ablutions in the morning because there is a nice little patch of grass that wasn't near the road. Close to a Dunkin Donuts for morning coffee. Loved having a little fridge to keep some water and fruit cold. Great location as we headed out for a day in Newport and it was only 25 minutes away. We got to the Breakers before it opened at 9 and avoided all the traffic in town which came later after we had parked. yay! Will definitely come back when the weather is nice and take advantage of the outdoor grills and picnic tables to have dinner after a day on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for The Surfside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came up for a weekend getaway to the Nordic Lodge. I was not looking for a big place to stay in. So I used Trip Planner. And I read all of the reviews. Even though the reviews were good. I still was apprehensive. Motels are always associated as being seedy, dirty places. When I arrived it was so cute and quaint. No one was in the office so I rang the bell and the most pleasant voice came over it. Debbie rushed down to the office. I told her I had to use the restroom. In 3 minutes I was checked in and walked into the cutest little room I have ever seen. It was so clean and neat. I loved the colors. The reviews did not do it any justice. I have never stayed anyplace that was so clean. I mean it was clean! Anyway It was really not what I expected. They provide you with BBQ grills and picnic tables. The only complaint I did have was the size of the shower. It was way to small. But everything else was so perfect! I will be back!

Room Tip: Clean! Clean! Clean! Not your ordinary Motel! And friendly staff!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cherise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night during a house hunting trip. We were arriving after midnight but that was no problem as they arranged for the room to be ready.

Know what you are buying. This is an old hotel like a holiday inn of the 50's. The room has a flat screen and a refrig. The shower is so tiny I had problems getting in and out. Having said that the room was clean, the bed comfortable and it was very quiet.

It fit our needs perfectly. We bought a house and will stay here during the renovations!

Room Tip: Room 1 was perfect for the 2 of us.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddbc, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your review. I'm glad everything worked out for you and you had no trouble with your late arrival. We do try to make things as easy as possible especially for those with that situation. I'm also glad that you found the room clean, comfortable and quiet. We look forward to seeing you in the future when you are going thru house renovations. I will be more than happy to assist you at that time.
Sincerely,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean, Clean, Clean!!! Cute and cozy efficiency.... All appliances worked. Wicked comfortable king bed. Close to all the stuff you really need. Great hostess!!!!!!!! Would seriously recomend "Phil's" Resteraunt in Wakefield. Great food and staff at a nice price. Can't wait to venture down from the North East Kingdom of Vermont again soon. Thanks a bunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenH342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddbc, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and I'm pleased you had a pleasant experience. I look forward to helping with your reservation needs in the future.
Debbie
The Surfside Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent one night at this little motel. It had amenities I wasn't expecting, like wifi and hair dryer. My brother's room had a little kitchen. The rooms were immaculate and quaint, with a bed, dresser, tv, mini fridge and closet organizer, a chair and bathroom with shower. Basic, but suited our needs perfectly. Debbie at the front desk was friendly and helpful. It was close to the beach, and local restaurants, like the Breachway Grille, our favorite. We would go back!

Room Tip: Room 5 had a kitchen. Only a few second floor rooms, no elevator that we saw.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_and_Jerry_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddbc, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a great experience staying with us. We look forward to your return. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautiful motel and nice staff,always clean and adequately stocked. In rooms were mini fridge and microwave for accessibility and adequately sized television with dvd player. Plenty of parking available.Quiet neighborhood and nice beach area. Very close to a Dunkin Donuts and local convenience store! Local restaurants and breakfast nooks as well..Everything was exceptional! Recommend to stay if you love the beach area and appreciate great service! Close to nearby Wakefield, Narrangansett, Westerly,RI.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank JL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Always clean, quiet, and affordable. Thanks for a great place to call home a few times a year. I always make it a point to stop here when I am in town for golfing, hunting, fishing or just visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room #1 or 3
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
10.9 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
340 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
220 reviews
9.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#3 of 17 in Westerly
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
#3 of 4 in Charlestown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Ln, Charlestown, RI 02813-4164
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $59 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing