We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room and Dinner in the tavern”

General Stanton Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Stanton Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the room and Dinner in the tavern”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This Inn with the old charm must have undergone some major changes since the negative reviews I have read here. Our room (Room 2) was General Stanton's Library back in 1667.
The room is beautifully appointed, cozy, clean and comfortable. The dinner in the Pub was far more than I expected. Very Tender Prime Rib, oven roasted potatoes and asparagus. the Salad was crisp and cold. I highly recommend the Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce. Service in the Inn and the restaurant was great - all very genial employees.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deenadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    0
    10
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the General Stanton Inn on a Sunday night. The motel is actually a collection of attached buildings, the oldest of which dates to the 17th century. We stayed in a room in the older part and enjoyed the low ceilings, exposed beams and overall character of the room. Some rooms were in a more modern section and looked like typical motel rooms. This is not a cutesy, boutique style B&B, so don't expect mints on your pillows or fancy soaps. It's basically a motel that happens to have historic character. We stayed here to visit Newport, about a 35-45 minute drive away and we found that this was a much better value than actually staying in Newport. The Inn is also ideal if you are visiting the beaches. There is a mediocre Chinese restaurant attached to the Inn, and within waliking distance there is a pizza place and a Tim Horton's donut shop. The Chinese restaurant is also a pub for the locals and we could see how it might get a little noisy on a Friday or Saturday night. We were drawn to the General Stanton Inn by watching an episode of a show called Ghost Hunters which claims that this Inn is haunted! Sadly, we did not experience any paranormal activity.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

More like a funky motel in transition in the middle of nowhere. Don't miss the Karaoke on Saturday night--it's not well attended, but those who do attend drink enough to make the "singing" memorable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danversite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I am not sure what this last gentleman was talking about, but We LOVED the Inn. We are taking our family back for our summer vacation. The Ladies that run the Inn were much help....room was clean.....we even had a fire at nite, in the fire pit, in the lawn with some other couples that were staying. We had a blast. The Inn is 340 years old..... I have been to other Inns that were not that old and they still didn't smell as good as this one...... I think the new Ladies that are running the Inn are doing a GREAT job!! I recommed this place to anyone....... not just for the stay, but the history is so interesting in itself!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helocin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The office was locked and unattended and we had to make a long distance call to check-in. We felt like it was an inconvenience to the innkeepers to assist us. My wife and I never received our breakfast vouchers (cheap) and paid over $160/night. This is way overpriced for what it offers. There was no phone, cups, or kleenex in the room. There were only two hooks on the wall for our hanging clothes. The room and bureau had a musty smell and we could not use the drawers. At night, the lights outside the room were so bright we couldn't sleep - the blinds did not darken the room. Loud noises and banging from the attached restaurant also made it impossible to have a restful night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_TravelerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Tavern in Inn was WAY too loud, kept us up all night! A bunch of scumbag drunks outside yelling and being unruly. Karaoke extremely loud. The entire place was filled with junk for the flea market they hold there and looked like an indoor yard sale. Saw a huge cockroach on the porch. It is a shame that such a nice building is going to waste with that dump.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StantonInnSucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The General Stanton Inn for our anniversary. My husband called ahead and worked with the Innkeeper (Elysia) who arranged to have flowers and wine in our room upon arrival. She gave us the room which she said she gives to honeymooners which is lovely. The room was clean, fresh smelling and spacious. Everyone on the staff from the maintenance person to the housekeepers were accomodating and friendly. I highly recommend this Inn for everyone

  • Liked — Friendly Service and lovely room
  • Disliked — I had to go home
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sammy123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
9.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
132 reviews
10.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
325 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
198 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
11.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Stanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Stanton Inn

Property: General Stanton Inn
Address: 4115 Old Post Rd, Charlestown, RI 02813-2553
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
General Stanton Hotel Charlestown
The General Stanton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing